Pac-10 Volleyball Weekly Release

Aug. 14, 2000

UCLA, which returns five starters from a team that shared the Pacific-10 Conference volleyball title with STANFORD last year, has been picked to defend its Conference Championship by the Pac-10 volleyball coaches. The Bruins captured all but one of the 10 first-place votes with the other going to Stanford. The Cardinal have tallied eight Pac-10 titles, including the last six, while UCLA has won seven Conference titles. The coaches have correctly selected the Conference Champion in eight of 11 previous polls. Following are the results of the preseason coaches poll, coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team (points 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2, first place votes in parentheses):

1. UCLA (9) 90 2. Stanford (1) 78 3. USC 74 4. Arizona 70 5. Arizona State 56 6. California 42 7. Washington State 39 8. Oregon State 38 9. Washington 35 10. Oregon 18

FIRST SERVE: Volleyball Magazine's Top 25 poll includes No. 1 UCLA, No. 4 USC, No. 6 STANFORD and No. 7 ARIZONA, all of which finished in the Top 25 last season . . . UCLA kicks off its season against Penn State on Friday, August 25 . . . All Pac-10 teams will begin play by Friday, Sept. 1 . . . Ten Conference matches will be televised by FOX Sports Net, beginning with California at Oregon on Friday, Sept. 15. The Pac-10 matches scheduled for FOX Sports Net this season are as follows:

Fri., Sept. 15 California at Oregon 7:30 p.m.Fri., Sept. 22 USC at Stanford 7:30 p.m.Fri., Sept. 29 Stanford at Arizona 7:30 p.m.Fri., Oct. 6 Washington at California 7:30 p.m.Fri., Oct. 13 UCLA at Arizona State 7:30 p.m.Fri., Oct. 20 Oregon and Oregon State 7:30 p.m.Fri., Oct. 27 Washington at Washington State 7:30 p.m.Fri., Nov. 3 USC at UCLA 7:30 p.m.Fri., Nov. 10 Wildcard Selection 7:30 p.m.Fri., Nov. 17 Wildcard Selection 7:30 p.m.

*All times Pacific

Categories:
Pac-12 Networks TV
On Pac-12 Networks Now
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Washington
  • Pac-12 Oregon
  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Los Angeles