Head Men's Soccer Coach Bobby Clark Resigns; Will Become Head Man At Notre Dame

Jan. 19, 2001

STANFORD, Calif. - Bobby Clark, the director of soccer and the head men's soccer coach at Stanford University, has resigned his post to become the head men's soccer coach at the University of Notre Dame.

Named Stanford's head coach prior to the 1996 season, Clark inherited a team that had produced consecutive 5-12 seasons and had not posted a winning record in four years. In five seasons, Clark created a national powerhouse, compiling a 71-21-12 record on the Farm. All five of Clark's Stanford teams reached double-digits in wins, while the 1998 and 2000 squads established the school record with 18 victories. The 1997 NSCAA Far West Region Coach of the Year and the 2000 Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year, Clark guided the Cardinal to four consecutive trips to the NCAA Tournament. His 1998 team reached the national championship match and his 2000 squad achieved the program's first No. 1 ranking en route to an appearance in the NCAA Quarterfinals. Clark leaves Stanford as the fourth-winningest coach in program history.

'Leaving Stanford has, without question, been one of the hardest decisions I have ever had to make,' Clark said. 'I have loved my 5 years on The Farm, but I will not miss the Bay Area cost of living. It will be nice to own a real house again, have a garden, and be able to have family come visit without having everyone sleeping in the living room.'

'We appreciate and value Bobby's contributions to the growth and excellence of the Stanford soccer program,' Stanford Athletic Director Ted Leland said. 'He brought Stanford to the point where we can compete for the national championship on a yearly basis. We wish Bobby and his family the best at Notre Dame.'

Stanford again figures to be a national power in 2001, as the Cardinal return 12 letterwinners, including five starters, from a squad that finished 18-3-1 last season. Forwards Roger Levesque and Johanes Maliza, each sophomores in 2000, combined for 13 goals and eight assists in a reserve role last season. Junior midfielder Derek Shanahan exploded in the NCAA Tournament with two goals and four assists, while junior Mike Murphy returned from injury to score a postseason goal. Aaron Biddle, Todd Dunivant and two-time All-American Lee Morrison, all starters on the nation's best defense, will return to anchor the back line, while Abe Geiger, Taylor Graham, Travis James and Mike Wilson all appear ready to contribute. The Cardinal will also receive a boost from 2000's redshirt freshman class, including Robby Fulton, Clayton Peters, Matt Janusz, Todd Leber, Aaron Maines and Sean Whalen.

An immediate search has begun for Clark's replacement.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder