UCLA Chosen to Host NCAA Softball Regional

May 13, 2001

LOS ANGELES - The NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced today that the eight-time NCAA Champion UCLA Bruins will open their 2001 postseason at home at Easton Stadium. The Bruins open tournament play on Thursday, May 17, at 1:00 p.m.

Other teams selected for UCLA's bracket include Fresno State, Cal State Northridge, and San Diego State. Game times for Thursday's opening day are as follows:

9:00  am  Game 2  #2 Fresno State vs. #5 Wisconsin11:30 am  Game 3  #3 Cal State Northridge vs. #4 San Diego State2:00  pm  Game 1  #1 UCLA (55-5) vs. #6 Coastal Carolina4:30  pm  Game 4  Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2

Tickets can be purchased through the UCLA ticket office at 310-UCLA-WIN. All-sessions ticket prices for the four-day event are $30 for adults and $20 for students. Single-session passes will go on sale Thursday morning at the gate at Easton Stadium. It is strongly suggested that fans park in the Sunset Village lot on Thursday and Friday and utilize the free shuttle to Easton Stadium. Parking is $6.

With its selection to the 2001 NCAA tournament field, UCLA has now been invited to 18 of a possible 20 Regional Tournaments. The Bruins have won eight NCAA (1982-84-85-88-89-90-92-99) and nine total National Championships (1978 AIAW), and have played in the NCAA Championship game a record 14 times. UCLA won the 1995 NCAA Championship, but its participation in that tournament was later vacated by the NCAA. The Bruins were not invited to the NCAA tournament on two occasions, in 1986, and in 1998, a year in which UCLA was ineligible for postseason play. UCLA and Coastal Carolina have never met on the softball diamond.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder