Three Bruins Lead U-20 Soccer Squad To 2-1 Win Over Italy

May 24, 2001

Toulon, France - The U.S. Under-20 Men's National Team used back-to-back goals from Oguchi Onyewu and Alecko Eskandarian in the 61st and 64th minutes to erase a 1-0 second-half deficit on their way to an opening victory in the 29th Festival International Espoirs in Toulon, France May 24.

The victory extended the USA's international unbeaten streak to seven games (which includes a 5-0-2 record in 2001), and came without regular contributors DaMarcus Beasley, Edson Buddle, Bobby Convey and Landon Donovan, all of whom are remaining in the U.S. with their Major League Soccer teams during the Toulon Festival.

UCLA freshmen Alex Yi and Nelson Akwari started on defense, and classmate DJ Countess allowed just the one goal while minding the nets. Akwari served as team captain for the U.S.

Next up for the U.S. is a match on Saturday (May 26) against Colombia, which will be broadcast ,ive on Fox Sports World and Fox Sports World Espanol at 10 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. PT. The U.S. will close out group play on Monday (May 28) against Holland at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT live on Fox Sports World/Espanol.

SCORING SUMMARY
ITA - Capone (Ferro), 43.
USA - Oguchi Onyewu (Kyle Martino), 61.
USA - Alecko Eskandarian (Conor Casey), 64.

USA - 1-DJ Countess, 2-Phillip Sayler, 5-Alex Yi, 4-Nelson Akwari (capt.), 3-Oguchi Onyewu, 9-Brad Davis, 6-Kelly Gray, 15-Brian Carroll, 10-Kyle Martino, 12-Alecko Eskandarian (8-Seth Trembley, 79), 17-Conor Casey.

Please Note: The Toulon Festival plays 40-minute halves.

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
Live
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close