Stanford And Tulane To Play First Game Of 2001 CWS On Friday, June 8 (2:00 p.m., CDT/12:00 p.m., PDT)

June 4, 2001

Stanford, Calif. - Fourth-seeded Stanford (48-16) and fifth-seeded Tulane (55-11) will open the 2001 College World Series by playing the event's first game on Friday, June 8 (2:00 p.m., CDT/12:00 p.m., PDT). The contest will be televised live by ESPN. The 55th College World Series will be played Friday-Saturday, June 8-16, 2001, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.

Top-seeded Cal State Fullerton (46-16) and No. 8 Nebraska (50-14) are the other two teams in Stanford's four-team bracket and will play Friday's second game (6:00 p.m., CDT/4:00 p.m., PDT), also to be televised live on ESPN.

Stanford is scheduled to play its second-round game on Sunday, June 10. If the Cardinal wins on Friday, the team will play against the Cal State Fullerton-Nebraska winner (6:00 p.m., CDT/4:00 p.m., PDT). If the Cardinal loses on Friday, the team will play the Cal State Fullerton-Nebraska loser (2:00 p.m., CDT/12:00 p.m., PDT).

The other bracket begins with a CBS televised game on Saturday, June 9 (12:30 p.m., CDT/10:30 a.m., PDT) featuring No. 3 USC (44-17) versus No. 6 Georgia (48-20).

Saturday's final first round CWS game (6:30 p.m., CDT/4:30 p.m., PDT) will match No. 2 Miami (48-12) versus unseeded Tennessee (46-18).

Stanford is making its third consecutive appearance in the College World Series for the first time in school history and its 13th trip overall. The Cardinal captured CWS titles in 1987 and 1988 while finishing as runners-up in 2000.

Stanford earned a spot in the 2001 CWS by winning an NCAA Regional and an NCAA Super Regional over the last two weekends at Sunken Diamond. The Cardinal won four elimination games and four-one run games to move on to the CWS. Stanford opened post-season play with a 4-3 win over Marist on May 25 before beating Texas in a pair of one-run games on May 27 to advance to a Super Regional. After splitting the first two games of its Super Regional with South Carolina, Stanford picked up a 3-2 win over the Gamecocks on June 3 to reach the CWS.

Tickets for Stanford games at the 2001 College World Series can be obtained by visiting the Stanford Ticket Office at Gate 2 of Stanford Stadium or by calling 1-800-STANFORD (Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.). An affiliation to Stanford University will be required to purchase tickets. Tickets are available only one game at a time for the next scheduled Stanford game only. Ticket prices are $15 per game for all-non championship games. If Stanford advances to the championship game, tickets will be $25.

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Women's Basketball: Colorado State at Colorado
    TODAY | 6:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Network
    Live
  • Women's Gymnastics: Red Rocks Preview (Utah)
    TOMORROW | 6:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Network
    Live
  • Women's Basketball: BYU at Utah
    Sat 12/10 | 4:30pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Network
    Live
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close