16 Teams Set for Women's Preseason NIT

July 3, 2001

NEW YORK (AP) - Two-time NCAA champion Connecticut leads the 16-team fieldfor the Women's Preseason NIT.

Five other NCAA tournament teams - Vanderbilt, Colorado, Fairfield, StephenF. Austin and Oral Roberts - will be in the Nov. 9-19 event, which wasannounced Tuesday.

Also set are Women's NIT runner-up New Mexico, and WNIT teams FloridaInternational, George Mason, Loyola Marymount, Oregon State and Temple. NorthCarolina, Evansville Eastern Kentucky and Pacific complete the field.

In first-round games Nov. 9, it's Fairfield at Connecticut, Stephen F.Austin at Florida International, Evansville at Temple, George Mason at NorthCarolina, Pacific at New Mexico, Oral Roberts at Colorado, Loyola Marymount atOregon State and Eastern Kentucky at Vanderbilt.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Football: Pac-12 Football Media Days Special (Day 2)
    TOMORROW | 9:30am PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder