UCLA's Jason Kapono Finalist For Naismith Award

Feb. 11, 2002

ATLANTA - Jackie Bradford, Executive Director of the AtlantaTipoff Club, announced today the twenty collegiate men finalists, including UCLAjunior Jason Kapono, for the Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year Award.

The Naismith Board of Selectors, which includes some the country's leading basketballcoaches, journalists and administrators, began the selection process earlier this year andhave reduced the number of finalist by balloting to the twenty top male and femaleplayers they felt most deserving of the award.

The winner of the Naismith Award, the most prestigious individual honor in collegebasketball, will be honored in Atlanta on Friday, April 5, 2002.

The finalists for the Naismith College Player of the Year Award (listed alphabetically)are as follows:

Lonny Baxter, Maryland
Troy Bell, Boston College
Carlos Boozer, Duke
Caron Butler, Connecticut
Sam Clancy, USC
Nick Collison, Kansas
Dan Dickau, Gonzaga
Juan Dixon, Maryland
Jason Gardner, Arizona
Drew Gooden, Kansas
Casey Jacobsen, Stanford
Jared Jeffries, Indiana
Jason Kapono, UCLA
Steve Logan, Cincinnati
Tayshaun Prince, Kentucky
Kareem Rush, Missouri
Frank Williams, Illinois
Jason Williams, Duke
David West, Xavier

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 34th year, honors the outstanding collegebasketball players in the United States. The awards program was founded by the AtlantaTipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of excellence inbasketball for student athletes. Please visit our web page at for more information on theNaismith Awards and past winners.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder