2002 Spring Football Practice Commences

March 1, 2002

TUCSON, Ariz. - The University of Arizona football team kicked off 2002 spring practice drills Friday afternoon with a two-hour workout at the UA practice facility. Head coach John Mackovic and the Wildcat staff put the players through the paces, focusing on fundamentals and position drills.

'We had a lot of players who were so anxious to get out here and practice,' said head coach John Mackovic. 'Today's practice was much different from last year's first day because we did not have to start from zero. We were able to put in a lot of work today.'

Quarterbacks Jason Johnson and Nic Costa led the offense in skeleton passing drills against the linebackers and defensive backs. The squad closed the session with 45 minutes of team action.

Following the team's first practice, Mackovic emphasized that the players 'need to do a lot of studying in the next few days.' The Wildcats will hold five practices in the next six days before the team takes a week off for Spring Break.

The Wildcats are allowed 15 spring practices under NCAA guidelines and will conclude sessions with the Spring Game on Saturday, April 6 in Arizona Stadium.

All spring practices are open to the public. Most are scheduled on the practice facility at North Campbell Avenue and Enke Drive, across from McKale Center, but the Spring Game and some other sessions will be held in Arizona Stadium.

Arizona Spring Practice Schedule

Note: Days and times subject to change

Friday, March 1	 	Practice, 4 p.m.	                Tucson area coaches clinic.Saturday, March 2	Practice, 7:30 a.m.Sunday, March 3		Practice, 3 p.m.Tuesday, March 5	Practice, 4 p.m.Wednesday, March 6	Practice, 4 p.m.Thursday, March 7	Pro-Timing Day ('01 seniors)	                Practice, 4 p.m.March 9-16		Spring Break, no practicesTuesday, March 19	Practice, 4 p.m.Wednesday, March 20	Pro-Timing Day #2	               	Phoenix area coaches clinicThursday, March 21	Practice, 4 p.m.Friday, March 22	Football Alumni Golf TournamentSaturday, March 23 	Practice, 1 p.m.	               	Alumni BarbecueTuesday, March 26	Practice, 4 p.m.Thursday, March 28	Practice, 4 p.m.Friday, March 29	Practice, 4 p.m.Tuesday, April 2	Practice, 4 p.m.Wednesday, April 3 	Chuck Cecil DinnerThursday, April 4	Practice, 4 p.m.Friday, April 5	 	Chuck Cecil Golf TournamentSaturday, April 6	Spring Game, 1 p.m.Tuesday, April 9	Arizona Football Spring Picnic
Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close