Stanford Set To Host 2002 NCAA Women's Golf West Regional

April 29, 2002

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Women's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2002 Division I Women's Golf Championships Regionals.

Three regional tournaments will be conducted May 9-11 to determine the championships field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition, and all national championships policies will apply.

A total of 324 participants have been selected for the regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals May 21-24. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each region.

The Stanford women's golf team will compete on their home course as part of 21 teams and three individuals competing in the West Regional.

The championships finals will be held at Washington National Golf Club, Auburn, Washington, hosted by the University of Washington.

The regional sites and the selected teams and individuals are listed below.

East Regional

The East regional will be played May 9-11 at University Club, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, hosted by Louisiana State University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams:1	Auburn2	Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)3	Georgia4	Tennessee5	Vanderbilt6	Florida7	South Carolina (Southeastern Conference)8	Wake Forest9	Furman (Southern Conference)10	North Carolina11	LSU12	Tulane13	Mississippi State14	Memphis15	Texas A&M16	UCF17	Alabama18	South Florida19	North Carolina State20	Yale (Ivy Group)21	Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

Individuals:1 Katie Futcher, Penn State2 Camilla Hilland, Miami (Florida)3 Jessica Lewis, James Madison

Central Regional

The Central regional will be played May 9-11 at Forest Akers Golf Course, East Lansing, Michigan, hosted by Michigan State University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams:1	Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)2	Tulsa (Western Athletic Conference)3	Texas4	Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)5	Michigan6	Michigan State7	Purdue8	Oklahoma9	TCU (Conference USA)10	Baylor11	Kent State (Mid-American Conference)12	Indiana13	Northwestern14	Florida State15	Illinois16	Nebraska17	Wisconsin18	Kansas State19	North Carolina-Wilmington (Big South Conference)20	Bradley (Missouri Valley Conference)21	St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast Conference)

Individuals:1 Randi Gauthier, North Texas2 Elin Ohlsson, Missouri3 Alison Hiller, Southern Illinois

West Regional

The West regional will be played May 9-11 at Stanford Golf Course, Stanford, California, hosted by Stanford University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams:1	Arizona (Pacific-10 Conference)2	Arizona State3	UCLA4	California5	Washington6	Southern California7	Pepperdine8	Stanford9	New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)10	New Mexico State (Sun Belt Conference)11	Idaho12	San Francisco13	San Jose State14	UC Irvine15	Denver16	Brigham Young17	Colorado State18	Washington State19	Campbell (Atlantic Sun Conference)20	Oral Roberts (Mid-Continent Conference)21	Northern Arizona (Big Sky Conference)

Individuals:1 Erin Kerr, Colorado2 Sarah Walter, Portland3 Kathy Cho, Oregon

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Sports Report: Year End Spectacular
    Thu 6/29 | 7:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder