Men's Basketball Schedule Includes Trips To Maui, Las Vegas and Utah

June 7, 2002

Complete Schedule in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Arizona State has its tentative men's basketball schedule set, as the Sun Devils will make trips to Maui, Las Vegas and Utah in non-conference action and will begin Pac-10 season Jan. 2 in Corvallis against Oregon State. ASU has a 29-game regular-season schedule plus the Pac-10 Tournament which is held March 13-15 next year again at Staples Center in Los Angeles. Please note the schedule is still tentative and that once television sets times in August the schedule will be finalized.

'We are looking forward to playing a very tough schedule this year,' said Rob Evans. 'Our young kids will be tested as soon as the season starts and we have a great non-conference schedule that is followed by the Pac-10 schedule, which has 18 tough Pac-10 games. Games against BYU, Purdue and Utah along with the three games at Maui will make our young players grow up in a hurry.'

Some notes on the schedule:

ASU opens its season on Friday, Nov. 22, against Morehead State in Tempe. Morehead State is coached by former Phoenix Sun Kyle Macy.

ASU then travels to Maui to compete in the Maui Invitaitonal Nov. 25-27, with Chaminade, Gonzaga, Indiana, Virginia, UMASS, Kentucky and Utah all in the field. The brackets and television times will be announced in August.

ASU finishes its four-year series against BYU on Wednesday, Dec. 4 in Tempe. The Sun Devils then play at Salt Lake City against Utah on Saturday, Dec. 7.

ASU will take a break from Dec. 11-19 for final exams.

The Las Vegas Showdown will have the Sun Devils taking on Purdue and Stanford taking on UNLV on Sat., Dec. 21. ESPN2 will televise the contests.

Big 12 member Nebraska, UC Santa Barbara and Bucknell will play in ASU's annual holiday tournament. UCSB played in last year's NCAA Tournament.

ASU will open on the road for the fourth time in the Rob Evans' five years as a Sun Devils when it takes on Oregon State in Corvallis on Jan. 2. The Sun Devils then take on defending Pac-10 champion Oregon on Jan. 4.

The Sun Devils will take on Arizona in Tucson on Jan. 22 and then host the Wildcats on Sat., Feb. 22, in Tempe. ASU beat the Wildcats 88-72 in Tempe last year.



Wed. Nov. 13 EA SPORTS All-Stars # TempeMon. Nov. 18 Basketball Travelers # Tempe

Fri. Nov. 22 Morehead State Tempe


Tues. Nov. 26 TBA Lahaina

Wed. Nov. 27 TBA Lahaina

Maui Invitational field includes: ASU, Chaminade, Gonzaga, Indiana, Virginia, UMASS, Kentucky and Utah.

Sat. Nov. 30 Lafayette Tempe

Wed. Dec. 4 Brigham Young Tempe

Sat. Dec. 7 Utah Salt Lake City

Tues. Dec. 10 Nevada Tempe

Dec. 11-19 Final Exams/ASU Commencement

LAS VEGAS SHOWDOWNSat. Dec. 21 Arizona State vs. Purdue Las Vegas ESPN2 Stanford vs. UNLV


Participating Teams: Nebraska, UC-Santa Barbara, Bucknell

Fri. Dec. 27 UCSB vs. Nebraska Tempe ASU vs. Bucknell Tempe

Sat. Dec. 28 Consolation Tempe Championship Tempe

*The UCSB-Nebraska on Friday will be played at TBA p.m. The ASU game will be at TBA p.m. The consolation will begin at TBA on Saturday and the championship at TBA p.m.

Thur. Jan. 2 Oregon State ! Corvallis

Sat. Jan. 4 Oregon ! Eugene

Thur. Jan. 9 Washington ! Tempe

Sat. Jan. 11 Washington State ! Tempe

Thur. Jan. 16 UCLA ! Los Angeles

Sat. Jan. 18 USC ! Los Angeles

Wed. Jan. 22 Arizona ! Tucson

Thur. Jan. 30 Stanford ! Tempe

Sat. Feb. 1 California ! Tempe

Thur. Feb. 6 Washington State ! Pullman

Sat. Feb. 8 Washington ! Seattle

Thur. Feb. 13 USC ! Tempe

Sat. Feb. 15 UCLA ! Tempe

Sat. Feb. 22 Arizona ! Tempe

Thur. Feb. 27 California ! Berkeley

Sat. Mar. 1 Stanford ! Palo Alto

Thur. Mar. 6 Oregon! Tempe

Sat. Mar. 8 Oregon State ! Tempe


Thur.-Sat. Mar. 13-15 Pac-10 Tournament Los Angeles

Mar. 20-23--NCAA First and Second Rounds

Mar. 27-30--NCAA Regionals

April 5-7--NCAA Final Four

# -- Denotes exhibition game.

! -- Denotes Pac-10 game.


Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder