Washington to Host 2004 NCAA West Regional

July 24, 2002

Indianapolis - The University of Washington's Bank of America Arena has been selected as the site for the 2004 NCAA Women's Basketball West Regional, the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Committee announced.

It is the first time Washington has hosted an NCAA women's basketball event since 1996, when Hec Edmundson Pavilion served as the site of the West Regional.

The Committee also announced regional sites for the 2004 and 2006 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championships. The committee forwarded the regional sites to the NCAA Division Championships/Competition Cabinet, which approved the sites at its recent meeting in Indianapolis.In addition, the RCA Dome was announced as the venue for the 2005 NCAA Women's Final Four in Indianapolis.

The regional sites for the 2004 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship, which will be held March 27 and 29, and March 28 and 30, are as follows:

East: Hartford Civic Center (15,024); Hartford, Connecticut; Big East Conference, host
Mideast: Constant Convocation Center (8,639); Norfolk, Virginia; Old Dominion University, host
Midwest: Lloyd Noble Center (12,000); Norman, Oklahoma; University of Oklahoma, host
West: Bank of America Arena (10,000); Seattle, Washington; University of Washington, host

The regional sites for the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship, which will be held March 26 and 28, and March 27 and 29, are as follows:

East: The Liacouras Center (10,206); Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Temple University, host
Mideast: McKenzie Arena (12,000); Chattanooga, Tennessee; University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, host
Midwest: Municipal Coliseum (9,000); Kansas City, Missouri; University of Missouri, Kansas City, and Kansas City Sports Commission, hosts
West: TBA

The regional sites for the 2006 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship, which will be held March 25 and 27, and March 26 and 28, are as follows:

East: Bridgeport Arena at Harbor Yard (8,754); Fairfield, Connecticut Fairfield University, host
Mideast: Gund Arena (20,000); Cleveland, Ohio; Cleveland State University and Mid-American Conference, hosts
Midwest: SBC Center (18,500); San Antonio, Texas; University of Texas at San Antonio, host
West: University Arena 'The Pit' (16,301); Albuquerque, New Mexico; University of New Mexico, host

The RCA Dome and Indianapolis will host the 2005 Women's Final Four for the first time in the event's history. The 2005 Women's Final Four will be held April 3 and 5. The facility has hosted the Men's Final Four in 1991, 1997 and 2000, and preliminary round sessions of the Division I Men's Basketball Championship in 1990, 1993, 1996 and 1999.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder