Pac-10 Announces All-Conference Cross Country Teams

Dec. 4, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- STANFORD's Grant Robison and Alicia Craig were named the Pacific-10 Conference Cross Country Athletes of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Robison, a junior from San Angelo, Texas, captured his second consecutive title at the Pac-10 Championships. He then capped off the season with a third-place finish, the highest placing by a Pac-10 runner, at the NCAA Championships as he guided the Stanford Cardinal to the NCAA title.

Craig, a sophomore from Gillette, Wash., finished fourth at the Pac-10 Championship and took top honors at the NCAA West Regional. She then placed third at the NCAA Championships, guiding Stanford to a second place finish in the team standings.

Stanford freshman Neil Davis, from Los Altos, Calif., was named the Men's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year. He was the top placing freshman at the Pac-10 Championships, finishing seventh, as he helped lead the Cardinal to their sixth Pac-10 title in seven years. He also placed eighth at the NCAA West Regional, helping the Cardinal to a 22-point margin-of-victory.

ARIZONA STATE freshman Jessica Scalzo, from Snoqualimie, Wash., was named the Women's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year. Scalzo, who finished fifth at the Pac-10 Championships - tops among all Pac-10 freshmen, was key in leading the Arizona State women to a second place finish.

Also announced were the Conference Coach of the Year honors. Stanford's Vin Lananna was named both men's and women's Coach of the Year .

Lananna captures the men's coaching honor for the fifth time. The Stanford men won their sixth Pac-10 title in the last seven years, easily outdistancing the field by a 32-point margin of victory. The Cardinal also took first place at the NCAA West Regionals and capped off the 2002 season with their second NCAA title.

Lananna also has been awarded coach of the year on the women's side for the fifth time. The Cardinal won their seventh consecutive Pac-10 title with a 36-point margin-of-victory over Arizona State, took the team title at the NCAA West Regional and finished second at the NCAA Championships.

The honors were decided by a vote of the Conference's cross country coaches.



First Team
Grant Robison, Jr., Stanford
Ian Dobson, Jr., Stanford
Donald Sage, Jr., Stanford
Jason Hartmann, Sr., Oregon
Ryan Andrus, So., Oregon
Adam Tenforde, Jr., Stanford

Second Team
Neil Davis, Fr., Stanford
Ryan Hall, So., Stanford
Peter Meindl, Fr., Stanford
Fasil Bizuneh, Sr., Arizona State
Justin Romaniuk, Fr., Stanford
Brett Holts, Jr., Oregon

Athlete of the Year
Grant Robison, Jr., Stanford

Newcomer of the Year
Neil Davis, Fr., Stanford

Coach of the Year
Vin Lananna, Stanford


First Team
Sara Bei, So., Stanford
Lauren Fleshman, Sr., Stanford
Lena Nilsson, Jr., UCLA
Alicia Craig, So., Stanford
Malindi Elmore, Sr., Stanford
Jessica Scalzo, Fr., Arizona State

Second Team
Courtney Inman, Sr., Washington
Carrie Zografos, Sr., Oregon
Alejandra Barrientos, So., UCLA
Amy Hastings, Fr., Arizona State
Erin Sullivan, Sr., Stanford
Desiree Davila, So., Arizona State

Athlete of the Year
Alicia Craig, So., Stanford

Newcomer of the Year
Jessica Scalzo, Fr., Arizona State

Coach of the Year
Vin Lananna, Stanford

* - All-Conference teams determined by order of finish at the Pac-10 Championships.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder