Spring Football Set To Open Start March 29

March 6, 2003

TUCSON - The University of Arizona's spring football practice, set to begin Saturday, has officially been re-scheduled to commence later this month.

Head coach John Mackovic pushed the start until after the UA's annual Spring Break recess because several coaching positions have yet to be filled. One key newcomer to the staff, defensive coordinator Mike Hankwitz, has been on the job for only a full day.

Arizona will open spring drills the morning of Saturday, March 29, and fill the first week with with six practices in eight days. Thereafter the team will work three times the following week including the annual Red-Blue Scrimmage, four times the third week and twice the final week with the closing day Thursday, April 24.

The NCAA allows a maximum of 15 practices during spring. UA originally had four planned before Spring Break (March 15-23), but had to push the drills back after five coaches left in the past five weeks.

With UA in the midst of moving from its decade-long use of the double-eagle flex defense to a more traditional system, that staff particularly needed an opportunity to spend more planning time prior to drills, coaches said.

Spring practice is free and open the public. The Wildcats use their twin-field facility just southeast of McKale Center and Arizona Stadium for major scrimmage work. Mackovic said the team plans possibly three scrimmage-type sessions including the spring game.

The Wildcats open the season at 7 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 30, against Texas-El Paso in Tucson.

Spring Football Schedule

All times subject to Change

Thursday, March 13	Pro Timing Day, a.m./p.m.March 15-23	        Spring Break recessWednesday, March 26	Tucson area Coaches ClinicFriday, March 28	Football Alumni Golf TournamentSaturday, March 29	Practice, a.m.Sunday, March 30	Practice, a.m.Tuesday, April 1	Practice, 3:45 p.m.Wednesday, April 2	Phoenix area Coaches ClinicThursday, April 3	Practice, 3:45 p.m.Friday, April 4	        Practice, 3:45 p.m.Saturday, April 5	Practice, a.m.Tuesday, April 8	Practice, 3:45 p.m.Thursday, April 10	Practice, 3:45 p.m.Saturday, April 12	Annual Spring Football Red-Blue Game, 1 p.m., Arizona StadiumSunday, April 13	Practice, a.m.Tuesday, April 15	Practice, 3:45 p.m.Wednesday, April 16	Team PicnicThursday, April 17	Practice, 3:45 p.m.Friday, April 18	Practice, 3:45 p.m.Tuesday, April 22	Practice, 3:45 p.m.Thursday, April 24	Practice, 3:45 p.m.
Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close