Pac-10 Announces Women's Swimming Awards

April 4, 2003

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- CALIFORNIA's Natalie Coughlin was named the 2002-03 Pacific-10 Conference Women's Swimmer of the Year, while UCLA's Cyndi Gallagher was named Coach of the Year. The Bruins' Kim Vandenberg was named Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Coughlin, a junior from Concord, Calif., earns her third consecutive Pac-10 Swimmer of the Year award. She had her finest season yet in 2002-03, becoming the NCAA's first three-time titilist in the 100-yard butterfly, 100 back and 200 back. She also owns the American record in all three of those events. At the Pac-10 Championships in Federal Way, Wash., Coughlin won three individual events, including the 100 free in which she broke her own American, NCAA and Cal school record with a time of 47.42.

Vandenberg, a freshman from Moraga, Calif., is the first Bruin to ever earn Newcomer of the Year honors. At the NCAA Championships she was UCLA's top finisher, placing fifth in the 200 fly. Vandenberg finished second in the 200 fly and fourth in the 100 fly at the Pac-10 Championships, helping UCLA capture its second ever Conference title.

Gallagher led the Bruins to an 11th place finish at the NCAA Championships. At the championships, her swimmers placed as high as fifth and tenth in the 200 fly and 50 free, respectively. At the Pac-10 Championships, Gallagher's Bruins finished first, winning their second Conference title in three years. The women's swimming Coach of the Year award is the second of Gallagher's career.

The Swimmer, Newcomer and Coach of the Year honors are determined by a coaches vote.


Swimmer of the Year,	Newcomer of the Year,	Coach of the Year1988	Cheryl Simmons, ARIZ		Dick Jochums, ARIZ	Jenna Johnson, STAN1989	Michelle Griglione, STAN		Richard Quick, STAN	Sarah Anderson, CAL1990	Janet Evans, STAN		Cyndi Gallagher, UCLA1991	Crissy Ahmann-Leighton, ARIZ		Frank Busch, ARIZ	Summer Sanders, STAN1992	Summer Sanders, STAN		Richard Quick, STAN1993	Janel Jorgenson, STAN		Earl Ellis, WASH1994	Kristine Quance, USC		Skip Hill, ASU1995	Beata Kaszuba, ASU		Richard Quick, STAN	Jenny Thompson, STAN1996	Kristine Quance, USC		Mark Schubert, USC1997	Kristine Quance, USC		Mark Schubert, USC1998	Misty Hyman, STAN		Frank Busch, ARIZ1999	Marylyn Chiang, CAL		Teri McKeever, CAL2000	Haley Cope, CAL	Beth Botsford, ARIZ	Frank Busch, ARIZ2001	Natalie Coughlin, CAL	Natalie Coughlin, CAL	Richard Quick, STAN2002	Natalie Coughlin, CAL	Emily Mason, ARIZ	Teri McKeever, CAL2003	Natalie Coughlin, CAL	Kim Vandenberg, UCLA	Cyndi Gallagher, UCLA
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder