UCLA Captures 28th Annual Norman P. Miller Cup Regatta.

April 12, 2003

Marina del Rey, Calif. - The UCLA women's rowing team competed at the 28th Annual Norman P. Miller Cup today in Ballona Creek. The Bruins qualified a crew in each of the grand final races and were victorious between the varsity eights and novice eights. The victory in the varsity race crowned the Bruins as 2003 Miller Cup champions, the first time since they last won in 1990.

The Miller Cup, honoring former UCLA Vice Chancellor Norman P. Miller, was hosted by the UCLA men's rowing club team as a fundraiser for their sport.

The Miller Cup featured crews from Loyola Marymount, Orange Coast College, San Diego State, UC Irvine, UCLA, and University of San Diego. Preliminary races (2000m) were held in the early morning, and the finals (1750m) followed shortly after.

In the prelims, the Bruins qualified a crew in each of the grand final races. In heat 1 of the Varsity Fours, UCLA (8:07.70) finished second behind San Diego State (8:05.70) but still received a qualifying time for the grand final. Also in that race, the UCLA 2V4 (8:25.80) finished third, qualifying them for the petite final race. The UCLA varsity eight, second varsity eight, and novice eight all won their preliminary heat to automatically qualify for the grand finals.

UCLA, San Diego State, and USD met in the Varsity Four Grand Final. In the UCLA boat was Romina Kim (stroke), Dana Potthoff, Michelle Beatty, Michelle Potthoff (bow), and Megan Pangacian (cox). San Diego State took the early lead, and passing the UCLA Boathouse (1000m), the Aztecs maintained a full-length advantage over UCLA, followed by USD in third. San Diego State remained consistent and won with open water in 6:55.40. UCLA (7:05.40) finished second, and USD (7:13.50) finished third. The UCLA 2V4 (7:26.80) won the Varsity Four Petite Final to finish fourth overall, and UC Irvine (7:42.90) finished fifth overall.

In the Novice Eight Grand Final, UCLA battled San Diego State, and University of San Diego. Rowing for UCLA was Lindsey Hurban (stroke), Anja Wanberg, Nicole Schneiderjohn, Leah Racen, Lauren May, Shannon Packer, Kristin Bixel, Lora Batina (bow), and Arianna Combs (cox). The Bruins led from the start and simply dominated the race. Passing the boathouse, UCLA maintained a two-length open water advantage over San Diego State and USD, and the Bruins would take the victory in 6:23.30. San Diego State (6:39.10) finished 16-seconds later, followed by USD (6:48.40). Loyola Marymount (7:01.00), UC Irvine (7:01.80), and Orange Coast (7:07.60) finished fourth, fifth, and sixth overall, respectively, from the results of the Novice Eight Petite Final.

In the Second Varsity Eight Grand Final, UCLA faced San Diego State and University of San Diego. In the UCLA 2V8 was Melanie Salter (stroke), Heather McCluskey, Alexandra Reischman, Kristina Tritsch, Lauren Hamann, Melissa Kelley, Katie Larivey, Christina Pelham (bow), and Valerie Rodriguez (cox).At the start of the race, it was San Diego State with the early advantage. After 1000m, San Diego State increased their lead to a slight open water advantage over USD and UCLA, but San Diego State, who simply controlled the race, won in 6:30.10. The University of San Diego Toreros (6:34.50) finished second, and UCLA (6:38.50) followed in third. UC Irvine (6:42.00) and Orange Coast (6:44.20) finished fourth and fifth overall, respectively.

The Varsity Eight Grand Final featured UCLA, USD, and San Diego State for the 2003 Miller Cup. Rowing for UCLA was Liz Pallas-Jacobs (stroke), Jessica Rogers, Monica Grova, Christianne Bengard, Brooke Jordan, Dawn Regan, Elizabeth Felter, Irene Condella (bow), and Emina Ong (cox). At the start of the race, Loyola Marymount came out early, followed by UCLA and USD. At the 500m mark, UCLA, still in second, made a move to take over LMU. Passing the boathouse, UCLA now had a full-length advantage over Loyola and USD. With 500 meters to go, Loyola tried to cut into the lead, but a more powerful and confident UCLA squad was still holding strong. USD was battling for second and was now two seats down on LMU. In the final sprint, UCLA had an open water advantage, and USD was now in second place. UCLA (5:54.60) would go on to win the 28th Annual Norman P. Miller Cup. USD (5:58.60) came from behind to place second and LMU (6:00.00) followed in third. UC Irvine (6:10.40) and San Diego State (6:15.30) finished fourth and fifth overall.

The Bruins return to action next Saturday, April 19, at the Stanford Invitational in Redwood Shores, Calif.

The Norman P. Miller Cup
1976 - UCLA
1977 - UCLA

1978 - Long Beach State
1979 - Loyola Marymount
1980 - UCLA
1981 - UCLA
1982 - UCLA
1983 - UCLA
1984 - UCLA
1985 - UCLA
1986 - UCLA
1987 - UCLA
1988 - UCLA
1989 - UCLA
1990 - UCLA
1991 - ---
1992 - ---
1993 - UC Santa Barbara
1994 - UC Santa Barbara
1995 - UC Davis
1996 - Stanford
1997 - San Diego State
1998 - ---
1999 - UC San Diego
2000 - University of San Diego
2001 - ---
2002 - San Diego State
2003 - UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder