Men's Golf Begins Hunt For Third-Straight Pac-10 Title

April 25, 2003

THE TOURNEY--The 18th-ranked USC men's golf team takes a short drive up the 110 freeway to compete in the 2003 Pac-10 Men's Golf Championships held at Oakmont Country Club in Glendale, Calif. Play begins with 18 holes on Monday, April 28th, starting at 7:30 a.m. from the first and 10th tees, with the final round coming on Wednesday (April 30) at 7:30 a.m. The USC men will be shooting for their third-straight conference title--a feat last accomplished by Troy from 1971-1973. UCLA is the host for this, the 43rd Pac-10 tournament.

FORMAT--There will be 72-holes of stroke play. There will be six-player teams (best five out of six each day). Individual medal play will be determined by the lowest 72-hole score.

LAST YEAR'S CONFERNCE MEET--USC won last year's meet with a one-over-par score of 1,441. The individual winner was Jim Seki of Stanford, who shot a four-under-par 284.

SO FAR THIS YEAR--USC has six top 10 finishes so far this season. The Trojans' best finish was at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational, where they shot a school-record 832 over 54 holes to finish second. USC's schedule is ranked the toughest in the nation by Golfstat.

INDIVIDUAL SUCCESS--The Trojans feature freshman Taylor Wood who, besides having a team-best stroke average of 71.86, has also led the squad in three of the last four tournaments. Senior David Oh has the team's highest finish with a second-place (204) at the Thunderbird Invitational.

LIVE STATS--Live stats for the tournament can be accessed through

Golfstat Team Rankings (as of April 25)

1 Clemson University2 Augusta State U.3 TCU4 Texas, Univ. of5 UCLA6 Arizona, U. of7 Oklahoma State U.8 Wake Forest Univ.9 UNLV10 Florida, U. of11 North Carolina, U of12 Georgia, U. of13 Auburn University14 Arizona State U.15 Georgia Tech16 North Carolina State17 Arkansas, U. of18 Southern California19 Minnesota, Univ. of20 Oklahoma, U. of21 Charleston, Coll. of22 Washington, U. of23 Tennessee, Univ. of24 SMU25 Pepperdine Univ.

Golfstat Individual Rankings (as of April 25)

1 D.J. Trahan SR Clemson2 Nick Watney SR Fresno St.3 Hunter Mahan JR Okla. St.4 Brandt Snedeker SR Vanderbilt5 Bill Haas JR Wk. Forest6 Oliver Wilson SR Augusta St7 Troy Matteson SR Ga. Tech8 Dustin Bray JR N Carolina9 Jack Ferguson SO Clemson10 Adam Rubinson SR TCU11 Brock Mackenzie JR Washington12 Brendon De Jonge SR Va. Tech   David Inglis JR Tulsa14 Ryan Moore SO UNLV15 Chris Nallen JR Arizona   Ricky Barnes SR Arizona17 Bruce McDonald SR Charleston18 Peter Tomasulo JR California19 Andrew Dahl JR Arkansas20 Justin Walters SR NC State21 Michael Letzig SR New Mexico22 Matt Hendrix JR Clemson23 Jason Hartwick JR Texas24 Alejandro Canizares FR Arizona St25 David Schultz SO TCU


In his career, Schuette has coachedor recruited:* 14 Division I first-team All-Americans* 20 All-Pacific-10 Conference first-team selections* 27 Division I tournament medalists* The 2002 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, Ben Hayes* The 2002 Pac-10 Golfer of the Year, Kevin Stadler, who was also a 2002 All-American second-teamer* The 2001 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, Hunter Mahan, who was also a 2001 All-American second-teamer, the 2000 AJGA Player of the Year and the 1999 U.S. Junior Champion* The 2002 U.S. Women's Amateur champion, Becky Lucidi* The 2000 Pac-10 Women's Champion, Candie Kung, who also was a two-time first-team All-American, the 2000 AJGA Player of the Year and the 2001 USGA Pub-Links champion.* The 1998 Women's NCAA individual champion, Jennifer Rosales, who was also the 1999 College Player of the Year as well as a two-time All-American first-team selection.

His men's teams have won:* 19 Division I team titles* Two Pac-10 team titles (2001 and 2002)

His former players include:* One PGA Tour winner* Three PGA Tour Players* One two-time Nike Tour winner* Seven Nike or Tour players* Numerous State Amateur and Open winners* The 2002 Wester Amateur co-medalist, Kevin Stadler* The 1997 U.S. Amateur medalist, Roger Tambellini

* USC men's golf has won 17 Pac-10 Championships in the 43-yearhistory of competition, far more than any other school.

* In addition, the Trojans won an unprecendented four straight titles and 10 in 16 years (1960-75).

* USC has also recorded eight runner-up finishes in Pac-10 Championship play, giving USC first or second place rankings in 25 of the 43 years.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder