Arizona Receives No. 2 Seed in NCAA Women's Golf East Regional

April 28, 2003

TUCSON, Ariz.-Arizona will head to Winston-Salem, N.C., for the NCAA Women's Golf East Regional beginning on May 8, the NCAA announced Monday. The Wildcats received the second seed in that region.

Duke University is the top seed in the East Regional tournament, which is being hosted by Wake Forest University. Also included in the field at Winston-Salem, N.C., are (in order of seeding) Auburn, Vanderbilt, Wake Forest, Georgia, South Carolina, Tulane, North Carolina, Florida State, South Florida, East Carolina, Furman, North Carolina-Wilmington, North Carolina State, Mississippi State, Penn State, Mississippi, Western Carolina, Georgia State, St. Francis (Pa.) and individuals from North Carolina-Greensboro, Miami (Fla.) and Princeton.

Salem Glen Country Club serves as the host facility for the NCAA event. The course plays to a par of 71 and a yardage of 6,348 yards. It played host to the Atlantic Coast Conference Championship earlier this month.

2003 marks the first time since the NCAA implemented the regional format in women's golf that Arizona has not been included in the West Region. The Wildcats have claimed four NCAA Regional titles since 1993, the first year of the current format.

Arizona is among eight Pac-10 conference teams selected to one of the three regions. Other regional sites include the West Region in Tempe, Ariz., and the Central Region in Lincoln, Neb.

Last weekend saw the Wildcats finish second at the Pac-10 Conference Championship, ending its three-year grip on the conference title.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder