Stanford Women Tabbed No. 7 Seed In West Regional

April 28, 2003

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Women's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2003 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championships Regionals.

Three regional tournaments will be conducted May 8-10 to determine the championships field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition, and all national championships policies will apply.

A total of 324 participants have been selected for the regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals May 20-23. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each region.

The championships finals will be held at Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex, West Lafayette, Indiana, hosted by the Purdue University.

The regional sites and the selected teams and individuals are listed below.

East Regional
The East regional will be played May 8-10 at Salem Glen Country Club, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, hosted by Wake Forest University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams:1   Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)2   Arizona3   Auburn (Southeastern Conference)4   Vanderbilt5   Wake Forest6   Georgia7   South Carolina8   Tulane9   North Carolina10  Florida State11  South Florida (Conference USA)12  East Carolina13  Furman14  North Carolina-Wilmington (Big South Conference)15  North Carolina State16  Mississippi State17  Penn State18  Mississippi19  Western Carolina (Southern Conference)20  Georgia State (Atlantic Sun Conference)21  St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast Conference)

Individuals:1 Jenny Gleason, North Carolina-Greensboro2 Tina Miller, Miami (Florida)3 Avery Kiser, Princeton

Central Regional
The Central regional will be played May 8-10 at Firethorn Golf Club, Lincoln, Nebraska, hosted by the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams:1   California (Pacific-10 Conference)2   Texas3   Florida4   Tennessee5   New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)6   Tulsa (Western Athletic Conference)7   Purdue8   Oklahoma9   Missouri10  Baylor11  TCU12  Kent State (Mid-American Conference)13  Michigan State14  Arkansas15  Texas A&M16  Indiana17  Wisconsin18  Kansas State19  Nebraska20  Yale (Ivy Group)21  Southern University (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

Individuals:1 Randi Gauthier, North Texas2 Louise Kenney, Iowa State3 Elizabeth Burden, Northwestern

West Regional
The West regional will be played May 8-10 at Karsten Golf Course, Tempe, Arizona, hosted by Arizona State University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams:1   Pepperdine2   Southern California3   Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)4   UCLA5   Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)6   Arizona State7   Stanford8   New Mexico State (Sun Belt Conference)9   Washington10  UNLV11  San Francisco12  San Jose State13  Oregon State14  Denver15  Nevada16  Illinois17  Washington State18  Oral Roberts (Mid-Continent Conference)19  Cal State Northridge (Big West Conference)20  Portland State (Big Sky Conference)21  Bradley (Missouri Valley Conference)

Individuals:1 Nicole Keller, Idaho2 Stella Lee, UC Irvine3 Erin Kerr, Colorado

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder