Softball Picked Sixth By Pac-10 Coaches

Jan. 19, 2005

SEATTLE--Washington has been selected to finish sixth in the league by the Conference softball coaches as the Pac-10 Office announced the 2005 preseason poll on Tuesday. Head Coach Heather Tarr, who enters her first season at the helm of the UW program, returns seven starters for the 2005 campaign, including All-American catcher and 2004 Pac-10 Player of the Year Kristen Rivera and All-American second baseman Dominique Lastrapes. Tarr, a former player at Washington, aims to guide the Huskies to their 12th postseason appearance and eighth Women's College World Series.

California was picked to win the Pac-10 Conference after receiving 44 points, including three first place votes. Arizona, the 2004 Pac-10 Champion, was picked to finish second with 43 points, while 2004 National Champion UCLA was tabbed third with 42 points.

Stanford, a 2004 WCWS participant finished fourth with 30 points, while Oregon and Washington finished fifth and sixth with 22 and 21 points, respectively. Rounding out the poll was Oregon State with 12 points and Arizona State with 10 points.

It was a banner year for the Pac-10 in 2004, as the Conference sent seven of its eight teams to the NCAA Tournament. At least three Pac-10 teams advanced to the Women's College World Series (California, Stanford, UCLA and Washington) for the fourth straight season. For the 11th time in Pac-10 history, two Conference teams squared off in the National Championship Game (UCLA and California). Additionally, Pac-10 teams finished 1-2 in the final USA Today/NFCA Poll, and a total of seven teams were ranked in the Top-15.

The Huskies open the 2005 season on Thursday, February 3 when they take part in the Hawaii Paradise Classic in Honolulu, Hawaii. Washington is scheduled to play Jacksonville, IPFW, Oregon and Hawaii in the four-day tournament. The Pac-10 season kicks off on April 1 when UW travels to Eugene, Ore., to face the Oregon Ducks.

Results of the poll are as follows. Seven points are awarded for a first-place vote, six points for a second place vote, and so on. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team.


	School (First Place Votes)	Points	1. 	California (3	44	2.	Arizona (2)	43	3. 	UCLA (3)	42	4. 	Stanford	30	5. 	Oregon	22	6. 	Washington	21	7. 	Oregon State	12	8.	Arizona State	10
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder