Washington Women's Soccer Announces Team Awards

Jan. 20, 2005

Seattle - The Washington women's soccer team announced its annual team awards for the 2004 season. Husky senior All-American Tina Frimpong was named the Huskies' Player of the Year. She led Washington in scoring with 16 goals and 37 total points. Frimpong was instrumental in guiding Washington to its best season in school history. The Huskies posted a 17-5-1 record and advanced to the quarterfinal of the NCAA Championships.

Frimpong also picked up the team's Offensive Most Valuable Player Award. Senior midfielder Clare Rustad (Saltspring Island, B.C.) was selected the Defensive Most Valuable Player while senior midfielder Nikki Gamble (Oak Harbor,) was named the Most Inspirational Player. Freshman defender Dana Stirn (Tacoma) picked up a pair of awards as the Most Improved Player and the Rookie of the Year. The first-year player appeared in all 23 matches. The team's Unsung Hero Award was given to senior forward Kelley Schweighart (Solana Beach, Calif.).

Junior forward Kim Taylor (Woodland Hills, Calif.) was credited for the team's Goal of the Year Award for her 35-yard game-winner in a 2-1 overtime victory against 18th-ranked Ohio State to clinch the Husky/Nike Invitational Championship.

Senior midfielder Cassie Giles (Portland) was presented the Heart of Lyons Award for her effort, dedication and determination on the team. The award is named for former walkon Marisa Lyons, who played on the 1995-96 Husky teams and died suddenly in the summer of 1997.

Senior defender Kelli Smith (Santa Rosa, Calif.) was named the Jeannie Jensen Award for leadership and commitment. Jensen was the captain of the first UW team in 1991.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder