No. 1 Cardinal Men Remain Undefeat With 155-82 Win Over Arizona

Jan. 22, 2005

Complete Results

Tucson, Ariz. - The No. 1-ranked Stanford men's swimming and diving team (4-0, 2-0 Pac-10) improved to 4-0 on the year with a convincing, 155-82, win over Arizona this afternoon in Tucson. The Cardinal have now won their last 37 consecutive dual meets dating back to the 2000 season.

Stanford opened the meet with a win in the 400 yard medley relay. The quartet of Hongzhe Sun, Ricky Eddy, Matt McDonald and Kyle Ransom turned in the fastest time at 3:15.96.The relay team of Tobias Oriwol, Karl Boehringer, Peter Carothers and Matt Crowe took third (3:23.48). Swimmer Shaun Phillips took top honors in the 1000 yard freestyle, touching the wall in 9:16.55 while teammate Michael McLean finished fourth (9:33.34).

It was a 1-2 finish for Stanford in the 200 yard freestyle as Andy Grant clocked in with a 1:35.77 to beat teammate Jayme Cramer (1:38.52) to the wall. Stanford's top finisher in the 50 yard freestyle was sophomore Ben Wildman-Tobriner who took second in a time of 20.39. The Cardinal finished 1-2-3 in the 200 yard IM, lead by Hongzhe Sun's time of 1:49.47. Teammate Mark Stephens was second (1:50.20), edging Tobias Oriwol (1:50.76).

It was another 1-2-3 finish for Stanford in the 200 yard butterfly. Senior Jayme Cramer touched the wall first in 1:48.74 while fellow senior Matt McDonald was second (1:51.17). Rounding out the trio was freshman Peter Carothers (1:53.86). The next event was the 100 yard freestyle where Cardinal Andy Grant was the top finisher for Stanford, placing second in a time of 44.73. Matt Crowe placed third, clocking in at 45.89.

Hongzhe Sun won his second individual event of the day with a victory in the 200 yard backstroke (1:45.19). Teammate Tobias Oriwol was second, touching the wall in 1:48.87. Stanford claimed another win in the 500 yard freestyle as Michael McLean clocked in at 4:30.91 to lead the field. Cardinal Shaun Phillips was second in 4:32.44. Senior Gary Marshall easily won the 200 yard breaststroke (1:59.74) while teammate Nick Wolfe was third (2:05.01).

The Cardinal won the 400 yard freestyle relay as well as Ben Wildman-Tobriner, Jayme Cramer, Kyle Ransom and Andy Grant led the pack with a time of 2:58.54. The quartet of Daniel Beal, Peter Carothers, Matt Crowe and Matt McDonald were third (3:05.32). In the men's one-meter diving competition, Cardinal Jesse Fonner was second (268.19) while Kevin McLean was third (237.90). Fonner also placed second in the three-meter event with a score of 268.19. McLean was third (237.90).

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder