ASA Announces Watch List For USA Softball Collegiate Player Of The Year

Jan. 31, 2005

Oklahoma City, Okla. - The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced today its initial watch list for the 4th annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award. This award, which is considered the Heisman Trophy in women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Texas pitcher Cat Osterman and Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden.

The watch list is comprised of 40 players that represent 23 colleges and 10 different Conferences. A list of 25 finalists will be announced on April 5. A player does not have to be on the watch list to be considered for the top 25. But once the Top 25 is named the remaining finalist must be pared down from that list.

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 10th. The three finalists will be announced May 31st. The winner of the 2005 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced at the 2005 NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player's academic institution.

Van der Linden was selected as the 2004 winner after leading her Seminole's to the ACC title and a berth into the Women's College World Series.

This year's watch list contains eight players that were among the 10 finalist in 2004 and one that is a past recipient of this award.

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of amateur softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. As the National Governing Body, the ASA is responsible for identifying, selecting and training male and female athletes to compete in World, Pan American and Olympic competitions.

2005 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List:
(listed in alphabetical order)

Monica Abbott - Tennessee (Salinas, CA) - SophomoreKelly Anderson - California (Woodland, CA) - JuniorCaitlin Benyi - UCLA (Scottsdale, AZ) - JuniorGina Carbonatto - Pacific (Lake Stevens, WA) - SophomoreKasi Carroll - Georgia (Norris City, IL) - SophomoreMeredith Cervenka - Long Beach State (La Crescenta, CA) - SeniorAutumn Champion - Arizona (Tustin, CA) - JuniorMegan Ciolli - Notre Dame (Terre Haute, IN) - SeniorChristina Clark - Fresno State (Santa Ana, CA) - JuniorAshley Courtney - Alabama (Vero Beach, FL) - SeniorSara Dean - Auburn (Valencia, CA) - SeniorNorrelle Dickson - Oklahoma (Orange, CA) - SophomoreAndrea Duran - UCLA (Selma, CA) - JuniorVicky Galindo - California (Union City, CA) - JuniorAmy Harre - Southern Illinois at Carbondale (Nashville, IL) SeniorCamille Harris- LSU (Hendersonville, TN) - JuniorAlicia Hollowell - Arizona (Suisun, CA) JuniorCasey Hunter - Florida State (Millstadt, IL) - SeniorVanessa Iapala - Oregon State (San Diego, CA) - JuniorKami Keiter - Oklahoma (Arvada, CO) SeniorOli Keohohou - Long Beach State (Newbury, CA) SeniorLeslie Klein - LSU (Sunrise, FL) - SophomoreLauren Lappin - Stanford (Anaheim, CA) - JuniorDominique Lastrapes - Washington (Mission Viejo, CA) - SophomoreJodie Legaspi - UCLA (Garden Grove, CA) SophomoreCaitlin Lowe - Arizona (Tustin, CA) SophomoreJessica Merchant - Michigan (Wayland, MI) - SeniorBrooke Mitchell - Louisiana Lafayette (Pasadena, TX) - SeniorNicole Motycka - Michigan (Sarasota, FL) - SeniorAni Nyhus - Oregon (White Rock, B.C., Canada) - SeniorCat Osterman - Texas (Houston, TX) JuniorJackie Rinehart - Stanford (Reno, NV) - SophomoreKristen Rivera - Washington (Perris, CA) - SeniorJessica Sallinger - Georgia Tech (Kennesaw, GA) - SeniorHeather Scaglione - Oklahoma (San Diego, CA) - SeniorJamie Southern - Fresno State (Clovis, CA) SeniorKristina Thorson - California (Lake Forest Park, WA) SophomoreStephanie Van Brakle - Alabama (Chambersburg, PA) JuniorKim Wendland - Georgia (Rock Island, IL) SeniorVeronica Wootson - Florida State (Fontana, CA)

courtesy of USA Softball

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder