Cardinal Win USF/Wilson Invite With 8-0 Victory Over FAMU

Feb. 21, 2005

Box Score

Tampa, Fla. - Lauren Nydam pitched four scoreless innings to help the sixth-ranked Stanford softball team to a 8-0 win over Florida A&M this morning to wrap up play in the USF/Wilson Invitational in Tampa, Fla. The Cardinal won the tournament, going 5-0. Stanford improves to 11-1 overall while the Rattlers drop to 9-9.

In the bottom of the second inning, Tricia Aggabao got things started after she drew a walk. She advanced to second on a groundout and went to third on a single by Elizabeth Bendig. A throwing error by the FAMU catcher would score Aggabao and move Bendig to third. Heather Shook walked, then stole second. A sacrifice fly by Catalina Morris scored Bendig and advanced Shook to third. Jackie Rinehart then hit a hard single to the first baseman, scoring Shook.

Leah Nelson led off the bottom of the third with a single threw the left side. She then stole second and advanced to third on a throwing error by the catcher. Meghan Sickler singled up the middle to score Nelson. With two out, Morris doubled down the rightfield line as Sickler scored.

Stanford scored two more runs in the bottom of the fourth as Lauren Lappin led off the inning with a triple to right centerfield. Michelle Smith hit her fourth homerun of the tournament to make the score 7-0.

With one out in the bottom of the fifth, Michelle Thiry singled through the left side and advanced to second on a wild pitch. Katherine Hoffman hit an infield single to move Thiry to third. With runners on the corners, Shoney Hixson recorded an infield single to score Thiry.

Freshman Lauren Nydam 3-0) picked up the win in the circle, scattering two hits over four innings of work with two strikeouts. Destiny Gordon took the loss for the Rattlers, allowing six runs on six hits over three innings of work.

Catalina Morris went 1-for-1 with two RBI for the Cardinal while Michelle Smith had a 1-for-3 effort with two RBI as well.

FAMU rightfielder Eria Williams led the Rattlers with a 2-for-2 effort at the plate.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder