Pac-10 Wrestling Seeds Announced

Feb. 26, 2005

(Story compliments of Cal Poly Wrestling)

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. - Three wrestlers from the University of Oregon aretop seeds in the 2005 Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling Championships, whichbegin a two-day run Sunday in Cal Poly's Mott Gym.

Ducks' 165-pounder Joey Bracamonte, 184-pounder Shane Webster and 197-pounderScott Barker all are seeded No. 1 in their weight classes.

The remaining seven top seeds are from seven different schools.

Cal Poly's Vic Moreno is seeded No. 1 at 125 while Matt Sanchez of Cal StateBakersfield is the top seed at 133. Juan Mora of Cal State Fullerton waspicked by the head coaches as the No. 1 seed at 141 while Boise State's BenCherrington is seeded No. 1 at 149.

Defending NCAA champion Matt Gentry of Stanford is seeded No. 1 at 157 whileRon Silva of UC Davis is the No. 1 seed at 174. Finally, Cain Velasquez ofArizona State is the top seed at 285 pounds.

Competition both Sunday and Monday begins at 11 a.m. The championship finalswill be held Monday night at 6. Top three finishers in each of the 10 weightclasses qualify for the NCAA Division I National Championships, scheduledfor March 17-19 in St. Louis, MO. Ten wild cards also will be chosen by thecoaches following Monday's final match.

2005 Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling Championship Seeds
125 -- 1. Vic Moreno (Cal Poly), 2. Andrew Hochstrasser (Boise State), 3.Efren Ceballos (Cal State Bakersfield), 4. Jeremy Mendoza (Arizona State),5. Jesse Miramontes (Cal State Fullerton), 6. Nathan Peterson (Stanford).
133 -- 1. Matt Sanchez (Cal State Bakersfield), 2. Scott Jorgensen (BoiseState), 3. Derek Moore (UC Davis), 4. Lucas Hambleton (Portland State), 5.Bobby Pfennings (Oregon State), 6. Martin Mitchell (Oregon).
141 -- 1. Juan Mora (Cal State Fullerton), 2. Steve Esparza (Cal Poly), 3.Tim Norman (Oregon State), 4. Roberto Vargas (Cal State Bakersfield), 5.Skyler Woods (Oregon), 6. Chris Hayworth (Stanford).
149 -- 1. Ben Cherrington (Boise State), 2. Pat Williams (Arizona State), 3.Jeff Owens (Cal Poly), 4. Daniel Murphree (UC Davis), 5. Anthony Baza (CalState Bakersfield), 6. Josh Zupancic (Stanford).
157 -- 1. Matt Gentry (Stanford), 2. Brian Stith (Arizona State), 3. TonyHook (Oregon State), 4. Brian Busby (Cal State Bakersfield), 5. MorganAtkinson (Cal State Fullerton), 6. Lex Case (Boise State).
165 -- 1. Joey Bracamonte (Oregon), 2. Matt Ellis (Oregon State), 3.Christian Arellano (Cal State Bakersfield), 4. Brody Barrios (Cal Poly), 5.Frank Richmond (UC Davis), 6. Pat Pitsch (Arizona State).
174 -- 1. Ron Silva (UC Davis), 2. Leonel Sanchez (Cal State Fullerton), 3.Imad Kharbush (Stanford), 4. Jeremy Larson (Oregon State), 5. Chet McBee(Oregon), 6. Rick Renzi (Arizona State).
184 -- 1. Shane Webster (Oregon), 2. C.B. Dollaway (Arizona State), 3. RyanHalsey (Cal Poly), 4. Brandon Bear (UC Davis), 5. Dan Pitsch (Oregon State),6. Ryan Hagen (Stanford).
197 -- 1. Scott Barker (Oregon), 2. Ryan Bader (Arizona State), 3. RalphGarcia (Cal Poly), 4. Landon Seefeldt (Cal State Fullerton), 5. Casey Phelps(Boise State), 6. Travis Gardner (Oregon State).
285 -- 1. Cain Velasquez (Arizona State), 2. Ty Watterson (Oregon State), 3.Eric Smith (Boise State), 4. Eric Parker (Cal State Bakersfield), 5. CodyParker (Oregon), 6. Arturo Basulto (Cal Poly).

Note: Brackets will be posted on the Internet at