State Farm Pac-10 Women's Basketball Tournament Bracket Set

Feb. 26, 2005

Pac-10 Tournament Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The stage is set for the fourth annual State Farm Pac-10 Women's Basketball Tournament, held Mar. 4-7 at HP Pavilion at San Jose.

The No. 3/2 STANFORD Cardinal (26-2, 17-1 Pac-10) locked up the tournament's No. 1 seed by capturing sole possession of their fifth straight Pac-10 title back on Feb. 18. The Cardinal enter the tournament riding a 17-game win streak and are back-to-back defending Pac-10 Tournament Champions.

The OREGON DUCKS (19-8, 12-6) captured the No. 2 seed by virtue of the Conference tie-breaker. Oregon finished in a three-way tie for second place with ARIZONA STATE (20-8, 12-6) and USC (19-9, 12-6). Of the trio, the Ducks were the sole team to notch a win against Stanford. Oregon's previous high seed in the Pac-10 Tournament was fifth in 2003. Arizona State edged USC for the No. 3 seed due to the Sun Devils' 2-0 record against sixth-place UCLA, compared to the Trojans' 1-1 mark. ASU matched a school record with 12 league wins, the same total they achieved in 2001 and 2002. The Sun Devils won the inaugural Pac-10 Tournament in 2002, also entering the tournament as the No. 3 seed that year. The No. 4 seed, USC logged its best Pac-10 finish (tie for second) since winning the league title in 1994. Under first-year coach Mark Trakh, the Women of Troy notched their most overall wins (19) since going 20-9 in 1996-97, the last time they made an NCAA appearance.

The No. 5 through 10 seeds belong to fifth-place ARIZONA (19-10, 11-7), sixth-place UCLA (16-11, 10-8), seventh-place WASHINGTON (12-16, 8-10), eighth-place CALIFORNIA (10-17, 4-14), ninth-place WASHINGTON STATE (6-21, 2-16) and 10th-place OREGON STATE (6-21, 1-17), respectively. Under third-year coach Sherri Murrell, the rebuilding Cougars enter the tournament seeded other than 10th for the first time in the four-year history of the tournament.

The State Farm Pac-10 Women's Basketball Tournament made its debut in 2002 and was held on the University of Oregon campus in Eugene, Ore. The Conference's premier women's sporting event moved to its current home, HP Pavilion at San Jose, in 2003. The winner of the 10-team tournament receives the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship. The tournament seeds and Conference Champion are determined by the 18-game regular-season Pac-10 schedule.

Fans can purchase tickets by calling Ticketmaster at (408) 998-8497 or their local Ticketmaster charge by phone number. Online purchases may be made by logging on to or In addition, tickets may be purchased through the Conference's 10 member institutions' ticket offices. All-session ticket booklets cost $85 each, plus handling (5 sessions, 9 games).

Schedule of games:

2005 State Farm Pac-10 Tournament
Mar. 4-7, 2005
HP Pavilion at San Jose

Fri., Mar. 4
Game 1: No. 7 Washington (13-15, 9-9) vs. No. 10 Oregon State (6-22, 1-17), 6 p.m.
Game 2: No. 8 California (10-17, 4-14) vs. No. 9 Washington State (6-21, 2-16), 8:15 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 5
Game 3: No. 3 Arizona State (20-8, 12-6) vs. No. 6 UCLA (16-11, 10-8), 11 a.m.
Game 4: No. 2 Oregon (19-8, 12-6) vs. Winner 7/10, 1:15 p.m.
Game 5: No. 1 Stanford (26-2, 17-1) vs. Winner 8/9, 5 p.m.
Game 6: No. 4 USC (18-9, 12-6) vs. No. 5 Arizona (19-10, 11-7), 7:15 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 6
Game 7: Game 3 win vs. Game 4 win, 12:39 p.m. (Fox Sports Net)
Game 8: Game 5 win vs. Game 6 win, 3:05 p.m. (Fox Sports Net)

Mon., Mar. 7
Game 9: Championship Game, 7:39 p.m. (Fox Sports Net)

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder