UCLA Men Win Fourth Straight MPSF Indoor Title

Feb. 26, 2005

The UCLA men won their fourth straight MPSF Indoor Championship (117.50) on Saturday in Seattle, WA as senior Yoo Kim won the pole vault in a lifetime best jump of 18-4.75 in the pole vault.

Kim, who won the pole vault competition, was just short of the indoor school record (18-5.25, Mike Tully 1978). Junior Craig Everhart won the 400m in a provisional time of 46.59. Senior Nick Thornton won the 800m competition in a time of 1:51.07, while junior Martell Munguia (1:54.68) and freshman Mike Haddan (1:57.53) placed fifth and sixth respectively. In the mile competition, senior Ben Aragon placed fifth in a provisional qualifying time of 4:02.89 (season-best). In the 60m hurdles, senior Tony Golston placed second in a time of 7.91, while senior Jonathan Williams finished third (7.93).

Freshmen Dominique Easterling (50-3.50) and Michael Johnson, Jr. (50-3.25) finished second and third in the triple jump, while freshman John Caulfield placed third in the shot put (60-1.75). Juniors Jake Knight (59-7) and Jeremy Silverman (56-3.75) finished fourth and sixth in the shot put.

The 4x400m relay team of Mario Bassani, Thornton, Denye' Versher and Everhart placed third in a provisional qualifying time of 3:08.18.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder