Three Unseeded Wrestlers Advance To Semifinals

Feb. 27, 2005

Team Scores in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

-- Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling Championships --

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. -- Three unseeded wrestlers have advanced to thesemifinal round of the 2005 Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling Championships,which opened a two-day run Sunday in Cal Poly¹s Mott Gym.

Cal Poly 133-pounder Chad Mendes and Portland State 149-pounder Eddie Dahlenboth won two matches to advance to the semifinals while Portland State285-pounder Allen Kennett upset second-seeded Ty Watterson of Oregon State9-8 to advance.

Mendes pinned Bobby Pfennings of Oregon State in 1:42, then scored an 18-5major decision over fourth-seeded Lucas Hambleton of Portland State in thequarterfinals. Mendes will face top-seeded Matt Sanchez of Cal StateBakersfield in the semifinals Sunday night.

Dahlen earned an 8-5 win over Orlando Perez of Oregon State in his firstmatch, then scored a takedown with two seconds remaining to edgesecond-seeded Patrick Williams of Arizona State 3-1 in the quarterfinals.Dahlen will face third-seeded Jeff Owens of Cal Poly in the semifinals.

Kennett takes on third-seeded Eric Smith of Boise State in the 285semifinals.

Another upset occurred at 165 as sixth-seeded Pat Pitsch of Arizona Statedecisioned Cal State Bakersfield¹s Christian Arellano, the No. 3 seed, 3-2,to advance to the semifinals against No. 2 Matt Ellis of Oregon State.

Cal Poly leads the team standings after the first two rounds of competitionwith 53 points, followed by Arizona State with 48 and Cal State Bakersfieldwith 40. Defending Pac-10 champion Boise State has 36.5 points for sixthplace.

The Mustangs have the most qualifiers for the semifinal round with seven,followed by Arizona State with six and Cal State Bakersfield and OregonState, both with five.

In additiono to Mendes, Cal Poly¹s semifinal-round qualifiers include VicMoreno at 125, Steve Esparza at 141, Jeff Owens at 149, Brody Barrios at165, Ryan Halsey at 184 and Ralph Grcia at 197.

All 10 of the top seeds made it to the semifinals, including six who won byfall in the quarterfinal round -- Matt Sanchez of Cal State Bakersfield at133, Ben Cherrington of Boise State at 149, Joey Bracamonte of Oregon at165, Ron Silva of UC Davis at 174, Shane Webster of Oregon at 184 and ScottBarker of Oregon at 197.

Two other top seeds won by technical fall -- Juan Mora of Cal StateFullerton at 141 and Matt Gentry of Stanford at 157 -- while Cal Poly¹s VicMoreno at 125 and Arizona State 285-pounder Cain Velasquez won by majordecision.

Semifinals will start at 6 p.m. along with two rounds of consolationmatches. The final two rounds of consolation matches will be held Monday at11 a.m., with the championship finals slated for 6 p.m. Monday.i

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder