Gentry Upset in Finals of Pac-10 Wrestling Tournament

Feb. 28, 2005

San Luis Obispo, Calif. - Senior Matt Gentry could not defend his Pac-10 title, falling to Brian Stith of Arizona State in a closely fought 3-1 decision. Gentry gave up two points on a take down with six seconds remaining in the match. Stith's win helped guide Arizona State to the team title at the Pac-10 tournament. Gentry finished in second place, which qualifies him for the NCAA tournament. Imad Kharbush will also wrestle in the NCAAs after taking third place in the 174 pound bracket. He defeated number one seed Ron Silva in the consolation final. The only other Stanford wrestlers seeing action on Monday were Nathan Peterson, who took home fifth place, and Ryan Hagen, who finished in sixth place.

Matt Gentry could not beat Brian Stith again after beating him twice earlier this season. Gentry was one of only two top seeds who did not win their weight class. After a scoreless first period, Gentry scored the first point of the match on an escape after starting the second period on the bottom. Stith likewise record an escape after beginning the third period on the bottom. With the Pac-10 title on the line, Stith scored the only take down of the match with six seconds on the clock to win the crown. Despite the disappointment, Gentry will still wrestle in St. Louis on March 17-19 in his quest to defend his national championship.

The Cardinal will also send Imad Kharbush to the NCAA tournament after he won the consolation final against Ron Silva of UC Davis. After being knocked to the consolation bracket by eventual champion Leonel Sanchez, Kharbush won two straight to take the third and final spot in NCAA qualifying. Kharbush defeated Chet McBee of Oregon 5-3 and then beat Silva 12-5.

Senior Nathan Peterson took home fifth place after defeating Eric Stevenson of Oregon State 9-3. After falling in his first match, Peterson won two of three to place. In the 184 pound bracket, Ryan Hagen finished in sixth place after losing twice on the second day of the tournament. He wrestled a team-high five matches.

Arizona State, ranked 21st in the nation, won the team championship with 106.0 team points. Stanford finished in ninth with 48.5 team points. The winners of each weight class were:

125 - Vic Moreno of Cal Poly
133 - Matt Sanchez of Cal State Bakersfield
141 - Juan Mora of Cal State Fullerton
149 - Ben Cherrington of Boise State
157 - Brian Stith of Arizona State
165 - Joey Bracamonte of Oregon
174 - Leonel Sanchez of Cal State Fullerton
184 - Shane Webster of Oregon
197 - Scott Barker of Oregon
285 - Cain Velasquez of Arizona State

-125 pounds-
Nathan Peterson (2-2), 5th place:
Lost to Efren Ceballos (CSB) 14-5; defeated Joey Lucas (ORE) by decision, 11-3; lost to Jeremy Mendoza (ASU) by decision, 5-3; defeated Eric Stevenson (OSU) by decision, 9-3.

-133 pounds-
Juston Johnson (0-2):
Lost to Scott Jorgensen (BSU) by fall at 2:06; lost to Martin Mitchell (ORE) by fall at 4:15.

-141 pounds-
Chris Hayworth (0-2):
Lost to Tim Norman (OSU) by decision, 4-1; lost to Jeff Bristol (UCD) by decision, 5-3.

-149 pounds-
Josh Zupancic (1-2):
Defeated Nick Cantrell (ORE) by decision, 11-0; lost to Jeff Owens (CP) by decision, 6-5; lost to Patrick Williams (ASU) by decision, 5-1.

-157 pounds-
Matt Gentry (2-1), 2nd place:
Defeated Jesse Padilla (UCD) by technical fall, 19-1; defeated Brian Busby (CSB) by major decision, 15-7; lost to Brian Stith (ASU) by decision, 3-1.

-165 pounds-
Scott Loescher (1-2):
Lost to Joey Bracamonte by fall at 6:43; defeated Chris Feist (PS) by decision, 6-3; lost to Frank Richmond (UCD) by technical fall, 16-0.

-174 pounds-
Imad Kharbush (3-1), 3rd place:
Defeated Rick Renzi (ASU) by decision, 6-2; lost to Leonel Sanchez (CSF) 2-1, OT; defeated Chet McBee (ORE) by decision, 5-3; defeated Ron Silva (UCD) by decision, 12-5.

-184 pounds-
Ryan Hagen (2-3), 6th place:
Lost to Ryan Halsey (CP) by decision, 2-1; defeated Scott O'Rear (CSB) by fall at 3:27; defeated Jesse Taylor (CSF); lost to Dan Pitsch (OSU) by decision, 9-2; lost to Ryan Halsey (CP) by decision, 4-3.

-197 pounds-
Ian Bork (1-2):
Lost to Scott Barker by fall at 1:02; defeated Jake Schneider (PS) by technical fall, 20-2; lost to Casey Phelps (BSU) by decision, 5-3.

-285 pounds-
Shawn Ritzenthaler (0-2):
Lost to Cain Velasquez (ASU) by major decision, 15-4; lost to Ty Watterson (OSU) 12-5.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder