Travis Buck Named Pac-10 Baseball Player Of The Week

March 1, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. (www.TheSunDevils.com) -- Arizona State University junior right fielder Travis Buck has been named the Pac-10 Baseball Player of the Week for the week of Feb. 22-28, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Buck, from Richland, Wash., emerged from his early-season slump with a torrid weekend at the plate against No. 8 Baylor. The preseason All-American torched the Bear pitching staff, hitting .571 (8-for-14) with six runs and six RBI as the Sun Devils took two of three in the series. Buck started the weekend going 2-for-4 and lifted the Devils to a 5-3 victory with a grand slam home run with two outs in the bottom of the seventh inning. He followed that performance going 4-for-5 on Saturday and 2-for-5 in the series finale.

Overall, Buck is hitting .307 (23-for-75) with four doubles, one home run, 10 RBI and four stolen bases. He has recorded at least one hit in 14 of 18 games this season, including seven multi-hit games.

The Player of the Week honor is the fourth for Buck, while it is the 75th such honor for Arizona State. He also won the award twice last season (Mar. 2, Mar. 9) and once during his freshman season (Apr. 1).

With his outstanding week at the plate, Buck was also named to the College Baseball Foundation Honor Roll.

The Sun Devils (8-10, 0-0 Pac-10) begin a seven-game road trip this weekend with three games in the Keith LeClair Invitational in Greenville, N.C. ASU will play its ninth consecutive game against a top 10 opponent while opening the tournament Friday night (5 p.m. ET/3 p.m. MT) against No. 4 North Carolina (8-0). The Sun Devils will also play tournament host East Carolina on Saturday (5 p.m. ET/3 p.m. MT) and Ohio State on Sunday (10 a.m. ET/8 a.m. MT).

--Sun Devil Baseball--
Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close