Westerberg, Kovesdy Earn 2004-05 All-Pac-10 Honors

March 3, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Complete All-Conference Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Arizona State sophomore Emily Westerberg and junior Kristen Kovesdy have earned 2004-05 All-Pac-10 honors in a vote by the league's coaches. Westerberg has been named to the All-Pac-10 first team after being a Pac-10 All-Freshman selection last year, while Kovesdy was named to the honorable-mention squad for the second consecutive season. Westerberg becomes the ninth Sun Devil to earn first-team All-Pac-10 accolades.

Westerberg is leading the Sun Devils and ranked in the top 20 in the Pac-10 in scoring (11.4 ppg, 11th) and rebounding (4.9 rpg, 20th) this season. She is also third in the league and 31st in the nation in free throw percentage at 84.5 percent.

Kovesdy ranks second on the team and 13th in the Pac-10 in scoring at 10.9 points per game. Already ASU's career leader in field goal percentage, she is second in the league at 60.4 percent and is on pace to break ASU's single-season record in the category this year.

The Sun Devils have turned in a 20-8 overall record this season, the seventh 20-win campaign in school history, and tied for second in the league with a school-record 12-6 Pac-10 mark. ASU earned the No. 3 seed in the 2005 State Farm Pac-10 Tournament and will take on sixth-seeded UCLA on Saturday, March 5 in the tournament quarterfinals.

The Sun Devils are looking for their sixth straight postseason appearance and their first NCAA Tournament bid since 2002.

Stanford freshman guard Candice Wiggins has been named the 2004-05 Pacific-10 Conference Women's Basketball Player of the Year and Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. Tara VanDerveer of Stanford has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Wiggins becomes the first Pac-10 women's basketball player ever to be named Player of the Year as a freshman.

The complete Conference honors are listed below:


Name School Pos Yr Ht HometownAndrea Bills ORE C Sr 6-3 Moreno Valley, Calif.Nikki Blue** UCLA G Jr. 5-8 Bakersfield, Calif.Cathrine Kraayeveld ORE F Sr 6-4 Kirkland, Wash.Shawntinice Polk** ARIZ C Jr. 6-5 Hanford, Calif.Brooke Smith STAN C So 6-3 San Anselmo, Calif.Kelley Suminski* STAN G Sr 5-9 Chester, N.J.Emily Westerberg ASU F So 6-0 Greenacres, Wash.Dee-Dee Wheeler** ARIZ G Sr. 5-6 Chicago, Ill.Candice Wiggins STAN G Fr 5-11 San Diego, Calif.Lisa Willis UCLA G Jr 5-11 Long Beach, Calif.*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree; **three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

HONORABLE MENTION (Received votes): Jill Bell (WASH,So., F); Kate Benz (WSU, So., F); Susan King Borchardt (STAN, Sr., G); Brynn Cameron (USC, Fr., G); Leigh Gregory (CAL, Sr., F); Cameo Hicks (WASH, So., G); Kristin Iwanaga (CAL, Sr., G); Kristen Kovesdy (ASU, Jr., F); Meghan Gnekow (USC, Jr., G); Shannon Howell (OSU, Sr., G); Noelle Quinn (UCLA, So., G).

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder