No Record Is Safe

March 5, 2005


Long Beach, Calif. - Stanford's Gary Marshall led all qualifiers in the prelims of the 100 breaststroke with an NCAA qualifying time of 52.60, breaking the previous Pac-10 record of 52.76. The record was less than a day old when Marshall surpassed his own mark to claim the Pac-10 Championship in the finals with a time of 52.55. 'I expected Gary to swim well, but he's just been unbelievable. He still has his best event tomorrow,' explained Stanford head coach Skip Kenney. Cal's duo of Caleb Rowe and Henrique Barbosa finished second and third, touching in at 53.31 and 53.58 respectively. Their times qualify them for the NCAA Championships along with Mihaly Flaskay's fourth place time of 53.61. Five others posted NCAA consolation qualifying times under 55.62.

Marshall also teamed with fellow Cardinal Jayme Cramer, Matt McDonald, and Ben Wildman-Tobriner to break the Pac-Ten record in the 400 medley relay touching in at 3:06.69, a mark .12 faster than the previous record of 3:06.81 'That was one of the best relays I've seen in 26 years of coaching, exclaimed Kenney. Cal's team of Milorad Cavic, Caleb Rowe, Duje Draganja, and Jonas Tilly followed with an NCAA qualifying time of 3:08.11. USC's team of Viktor Bodrogi, Mihaly Flaskay, Sam Masson, and Ous Mellouli (3:10.70) and Arizona's Gerhard Zandberg, Ivan Barnes, Lyndon Ferns, and Simon Burnett (3:12.11) earned a spot at the NCAA Championships with their times. Washington's relay came in at 3:17.28, under the NCAA consolation qualifying time of 3:18.13.

Mellouli of USC continued to shine, breaking the Pac-10 meet record of 3:42.70, posting a first place time of 3:42.01 in the 400 individual medley. Mellouli earned his third individual title with the win, and will advance to the NCAA Championships. A pair from Stanford, Mark Stephens (3:46.46) and Tobias Oriwol (3:46.47) finished second and third respectively and will also compete at the NCAA Championships. Cal swimmers Louis Vayo, Miguel Molina, and John Dorr took spots four through seven posting NCAA consolation qualifying times along with participants from Arizona State and USC.

In the 200 freestyle Stanford flooded the championship race, with four of the top six finishers. Claiming the race was Stanford's Andy Grant with a time of 1:34.38, just three-hundredths shy of the Pac-10 meet record. Grant qualified for the NCAA Championships along with second place finisher Dominik Meichtry of Cal (1:34.69). Joining them at the NCAA Championships will be Arizona's Burnett (1:34.70), and Stanford's Shaun Phillips (1:34.99) and Mike McLean (1:36.01) after posting qualifying times. Nine other swimmers clocked with NCAA consolation qualifying times.

The 100 butterfly was won by Cal's Draganja in a NCAA qualifying time of 45.63. Ferns of Arizona finished as the runner-up followed by Stanford's Cramer with NCAA qualifying times of 46.30 and 46.67 respectively. Jernej Godec of Cal (47.04), Wildman-Tobriner of Stanford (47.07), and Masson of USC (47.10) all came in under the NCAA qualifying mark of 47.25. Six others posted NCAA consolation qualifying times under 48.66.

Stanford's Cramer came away with a win in the 100 backstroke, finishing in an NCAA qualifying 46.30. Also qualifying for the NCAA Championships were runner-up Cavic of Cal (46.50) followed by Hongzhe Sun of Stanford (46.83). Two Arizona swimmers posted NCAA consolation qualifying times along with Stanford and USC.

After 12 events Stanford has began to distance itself from the pack heading into the final day of events. The Cardinal boasts a 68.5 point lead.

Team Points
1. Stanford 643.5
2. Cal 575
3. USC 374
4. Arizona 327
5. Arizona State 200.5
6. Washington 150
Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder