UW's Lorenzo Romar Named Pac-10 Coach of the Year

March 7, 2005

SEATTLE - Third-year men's basketball coach Lorenzo Romar, who directed Washington to its best record in 52 years, received the Pacific-10 Conference men's basketball Coach of the Year award and guards Nate Robinson and Tre Simmons were first-team all-conference selections, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Monday.

Romar is the third Husky mentor to be voted the Pac-10's top coach by his peers, the first since Bob Bender in 1996. Marv Harshman, who coached Romar at UW during the 1979 and 1980 seasons, was named the conference Coach of the Year in 1982 and 1984. Arizona State's Ike Diogu was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year and UCLA's Jordan Farmar received the Freshman of the Year award.

This is the first time in 18 years that two Huskies have been named to the All-Pac-10 team. The last pair of UW first teamers was Chris Welp and Phil Zevenbergen in 1987. Guards Will Conroy and Brandon Roy were recognized as 2005 honorable mention all-conference picks, marking the first time that four Huskies have garnered All-Pac-10 accolades. Conroy, Roy and Simmons all hail from Seattle's Garfield High School. Robinson is a product of Rainier Beach High School in Seattle.

Romar has guided the Huskies to a 24-5 record, their best mark since the 1953 squad finished 28-3. UW was 14-4 in Pac-10 play, good for its second straight second-place finish in the conference standings. The 24 wins are the most recorded by a Washington team since the 1984 squad finished 24-7, and mark the first time that the UW has broken the 20-win barrier since 1998. The 14 Pac-10 wins are also the most by a UW team since 1984.

The Huskies finished their regular season schedule with a perfect 15-0 record at Bank of America Arena, the 11th unblemished home mark in UW history. The last time Washington lost a home game was Jan. 10, 2004 - a streak of 22 games, third longest in the country.

Under Romar's tutelage, the Huskies have become one of the most potent offensive squads in the country with a school single-season record five 100-point games to their credit. Washington leads the Pac-10 with an 86.9-point scoring average, the second-highest figure in the nation. The Huskies also lead the conference in scoring margin (+13.7), field goal percentage (.488), assists (19.52 apg), turnover margin (+4.28), assist to turnover ratio (1.34) and offensive rebounds (15.00 orpg).

Washington has been ranked all season, currently holding the No. 14 position in the Associated Press poll. UW meets Arizona State, Thursday, Mar. 10 in the first round of the Pac-10 Tournament. Tip-off is 6:15 p.m. at the Staples Center in Los Angeles for the game that will be televised live on FSN.

Robinson makes his second appearance on the All-Pac-10 team, having also earned the honor in 2004. He ranks among the Pac-10 leaders in six different categories this season - scoring (16.3 ppg, 6th Pac-10), assists (4.90 apg, 3rd), steals (1.83 spg, 3rd), 3-point field goal percentage (.403, 8th), assist to turnover ratio (2.37, 2nd) and minutes played (33.07 mpg, 7th). His 142 assists on the season are tied for third most in Husky history, and his 277 career assists rank 10th. Robinson's 53 steals are tied for sixth in UW's annals and he is third with 132 career steals.

Simmons is a first-time All-Pac-10 honoree. He leads the Huskies with 16.7 points per game, a figure that ranks fifth among Pac-10 players. Simmons' 69 treys are second most in Husky history, and his 117 career 3-pointers are the fourth-highest total. He was named the Feb. 28 Pac-10 Player of the Week.

Conroy leads the Pac-10 with 6.5 assists per game. He recently became Washington's all-time leader in career (479) and single-season (183) assists. Roy was also an honorable mention All-Pac-10 pick in 2004. He is the Huskies' third-leading scorer with 13.2 points per game and tops the team with a 5.6-rebound average. UW's Joel Smith, from Lompoc, Calif., was an honorable mention selection on the Pac-10 All-Freshman Team.

2005 Pac-10 Men's Basketball Awards

Coach of the Year -- Lorenzo Romar, Washington
Player of the Year -- Ike Diogu, Arizona State
Freshman of the Year -- Jordan Farmar, UCLA

All-Pac-10 Team
Ike Diogu, C, Jr., Arizona State
Channing Frye, C, Sr., Arizona
Dan Grunfeld, G, Jr., Stanford
Chris Hernandez, G, Jr., Stanford
Thomas Kelati, G, Sr., Washington State
David Lucas, F, Sr., Oregon State
Nate Robinson, G, Jr., Washington
Tre Simmons, G, Sr., Washington
Salim Stoudamire, G, Sr., Arizona
Dijon Thompson, F, Sr., UCLA

Honorable Mention
Hassan Adams, F, Jr., Arizona
Aaron Brooks, G, So., Oregon
Will Conroy, G, Sr., Washington
Nick DeWitz, F, Jr., Oregon State
Jordan Farmar, G, Fr., UCLA
Matt Haryasz, F., Jr., Stanford
Brandon Roy, G, Jr., Washington

Pac-10 All-Freshman Team
Arron Afflalo, G, UCLA
Jordan Farmar, G, UCLA
Malik Hairston, G, Oregon
Gabe Pruitt, G, USC
Bryce Taylor, G, Oregon

Honorable Mention
Robbie Cowgill, C, Washington State
Sasa Cuic, F, Oregon State
Derrick Low, G, Washington State
Josh Shipp, F, UCLA
Joel Smith, G, Washington
Nick Young, G, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder