Hector Ambriz Added to 2005 Brooks Wallace Award Watch List

March 8, 2005

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - UCLA sophomore right-handed pitcher and designated hitter Hector Ambriz has been added to the 2005 Brooks Wallace Award Watch List, the College Baseball Foundation announced Tuesday. Ambriz is among 38 players added to the revised watch list after the initial list was released prior to the 2005 season.

The Brooks Wallace Award is presented annually to the national college baseball player of the year. Cal State Fullerton's Kurt Suzuki was the winner of the 2004 award.

As of Tuesday, March 8, Ambriz has a .400 batting average (22-for-55) and a stellar 1.62 ERA with a 2-0 record. He already has posted two-four hit performances at the plate and a complete game shutout on the mound. His ERA currently ranks third in the Pac-10 and his 38 strikeouts are second best in the conference.

Some of the other players appearing on the watch list include USC pitcher Ian Kennedy, Arizona State's Travis Buck, Arizona's Trevor Crowe, Cal State Northridge's Michael Paulk, Washington's Tim Lincecum, Stanford's John Mayberry and Jed Lowrie, Cal State Fullerton's Ricky Romero and Brett Pill and Tulane's Micah Owings and Brian Bogusevic.

The Wallace Watch will be trimmed to 12 semi-finalists by Tuesday, May 24, 2005. The selection committee will narrow the list to three finalists following the NCAA Super Regionals at a press conference in Omaha on Thursday, June 16. The finalists, their head coaches, and their parents will be invited to Lubbock, TX, for a golf tournament, a welcome dinner and the award banquet.

The selection committee for the Wallace Award is comprised of a national panel of preeminent coaches, sports information directors, former winners and beat media who most closely follow the sport. Screening Committee members will evaluate the candidates and will continue their review throughout the entire baseball season. Additional Wallace Watch candidates may be added as the season progresses. Voting for the three finalists and the Wallace Award winner will be conducted by confidential balloting, with totals tabulated by the J.W.Anderson & Associates accounting firm in Lubbock, TX.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder