Ike Diogu Named Pac-10 Player Of The Year

March 7, 2005

Complete Pac-10 Honors Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

In a vote of the 10 Conference coaches, ARIZONA STATE junior forward Ike Diogu has been named the 2004-05 Pacific-10 Men's Basketball Player of the Year, UCLA guard Jordan Farmar has been named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Lorenzo Romar of WASHINGTON is the Pac-10 Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

DIOGU is a three-time All-Conference selection, and the second Sun Devil to be named Pac-10 Player of the Year (Eddie House, 2000). He received Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honors in 2003, making him the ninth player in Conference history to earn both Freshman of the Year and Player of the Year honors during his career. Diogu leads the Conference in both scoring (22.5 ppg) and rebounding (9.6 rpg) in 2004-05. Only A.C. Green of Oregon State (1984-85) and Mark McNamara of California (1981-82) have led the Pac-10 in both categories since the league expanded to 10 schools. Diogu also leads the league in blocks at 2.23 per game. Since blocks became an official statistic in 1977-78, no player has led the league in all three categories. Diogu has scored in double figures in all 89 of his career games played, recording 30 ore more points in six games this season. He earned Pac-10 Player of the Week honors three times this year. He's ASU's career leader and ranks second in Pac-10 history in free throws made (655) and attempted (834).


SEASON PLAYER OF THE YEAR FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR* COACH OF THE YEAR2004-05 Ike Diogu, ASU Jordan Farmar, UCLA Lorenzo Romar, WASH2003-04 Josh Childress, STAN Leon Powe, CAL Mike Montgomery, STAN2002-03 Luke Ridnour, ORE Ike Diogu, ASU Mike Montgomery, STAN Lute Olson, ARIZ2001-02 Sam Clancy, USC Salim Stoudamire, ARIZ Ernie Kent, ORE2000-01 Sean Lampley, CAL Luke Ridnour, ORE Steve Lavin, UCLA1999-00 Eddie House, ASU Casey Jacobsen, STAN Mike Montgomery, STAN Jason Kapono, UCLA1998-99 Jason Terry, ARIZ Michael Wright, ARIZ Mike Montgomery, STAN1997-98 Mike Bibby, ARIZ Baron Davis, UCLA Lute Olson, ARIZ1996-97 Ed Gray, CAL Mike Bibby, ARIZ Ben Braun, CAL1995-96 Shareef Abdur-Rahim, CAL Shareef Abdur-Rahim, CAL Bob Bender, WASH1994-95 Ed O'Bannon, UCLA Tremaine Fowkles, CAL Jim Harrick, UCLA Damon Stoudamire, ARIZ1993-94 Jason Kidd, CAL Brevin Knight, STAN Lute Olson, ARIZ1992-93 Chris Mills, ARIZ Jason Kidd, CAL Lute Olson, ARIZ1991-92 Harold Miner, USC Mark Pope, WASH George Raveling, USC1990-91 Terrell Brandon, ORE Jamal Faulkner, ASU Kelvin Sampson, WSU1989-90 Gary Payton, OSU Harold Miner, USC Jim Anderson, OSU1988-89 Sean Elliott, ARIZ Don MacLean, UCLA Lute Olson, ARIZ Ralph Miller, OSU1987-88 Sean Elliott, ARIZ Mike Hayward, WASH Lute Olson, ARIZ1986-87 Jose Ortiz, OSU Gary Payton, OSU Walt Hazzard, UCLA1985-86 Chris Welp, WASH Sean Elliott, ARIZ Lute Olson, ARIZ Pooh Richardson, UCLA1984-85 Wayne Carlander, USC Leonard Taylor, CAL Stan Morrison, USC1983-84 A.C. Green, OSU Chris Welp, WASH Marv Harshman, WASH1982-83 Kenny Fields, UCLA Dave Butler, CAL George Raveling, WSU1981-82 Lester Connor, OSU Johnny Rogers, STAN Marv Harshman, WASH1980-81 Steve Johnson, OSU John Revelli, STAN Ralph Miller, OSU1979-80 Don Collins, WSU Byron Scott, ASU Ned Wulk, ASU1978-79 David Greenwood, UCLA Bryan Rison, WSU Bob Boyd, USC1977-78 David Greenwood, UCLA -- Gary Cunningham, UCLA1976-77 Marques Johnson, UCLA -- Dick Harter, ORE1975-76 Ron Lee, ORE -- Dick DiBiaso, STAN George Raveling, WSU

* - Rookie of the Year from 1978-79 to 1982-83

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder