Robinson and Simmons Named to USBWA All-America Squads

March 8, 2005

Washington junior guard Nate Robinson and senior guard Tre Simmons have been named to the United States Basketball Writers Association's All-District 9 Team. Robinson is a repeat selection having also collected the honor last season. The 10-man team represents players from California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, Arizona and Alaska.

Joining the two Huskies were Ike Diogu of Arizona State, Channing Frye and Salim Stoudamire of Arizona, Dijon Thompson of UCLA, Daniel Kickert of St. Mary's, Christian Maraker of Pacific and Adam Morrison and Ronny Turiaf of Gonzaga. Stoudamire was the District Player of the Year. Pacific head coach Bob Thomason was named the District Coach of the Year.

Both Robinson and Simmons were named first-team All-Pac-10 selections Monday.

Robinson ranks among the Pac-10 leaders in six different categories this season - scoring (16.3 ppg, 6th Pac-10), assists (4.90 apg, 3rd), steals (1.83 spg, 3rd), 3-point field goal percentage (.403, 8th), assist to turnover ratio (2.37, 2nd) and minutes played (33.07 mpg, 7th). His 142 assists on the season are tied for third most in Husky history, and his 277 career assists rank 10th. Robinson's 53 steals are tied for sixth in UW's annals and he is third with 132 career steals.

Simmons is a first-time All-Pac-10 honoree. He leads the Huskies with 16.7 points per game, a figure that ranks fifth among Pac-10 players. Simmons' 69 treys are second most in Husky history, and his 117 career 3-pointers are the fourth-highest total. He was named the Feb. 28 Pac-10 Player of the Week.

United States Basketball Writers Association

2005 All-District Teams

District 1
(Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Connecticut)

Josh Boone, Connecticut
Pat Carroll, Saint Joseph's
Mardy Collins, Temple
Taylor Coppenrath, Vermont
Jared Dudley, Boston College
Rashuan Freeman, Massachusetts
Ryan Gomes, Providence
Carl Krauser, Pittsburgh
Allan Ray, Villanova
Craig Smith, Boston College
Curtis Sumpter, Villanova
Chevy Troutman, Pittsburgh

District Player the Year: Ryan Gomes, Providence
District Coach of the Year Al Skinner, Boston College

District 2 (New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Washington D.C.)

Turner Battle, Buffalo
Keydren Clark, St. Peter's
Jerry Johnson, Rider
Daryll Hill, St. John's
Juan Mendez, Niagara
Gerry McNamara, Syracuse
Peter Mulligan, Manhattan
T. J.Thompson, George Washington
Loren Stokes, Hofstra
Hakim Warrick, Syracuse

District Player of the Year: Hakim Warrick, Syracuse
District Coach of the Year: Joe Mihalich, Niagara

District 3 (Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland)

Raymond Felton, North Carolina
Sharrod Ford, Clemson
Justin Gray, Wake Forest
Julius Hodge, North Carolina State
Sean May, North Carolina
Rashad McCants, North Carolina
Chris Paul, Wake Forest
J. J. Redick, Duke
Eric Williams, Wake Forest
Shelden Williams, Duke
Brendan Winters, Davidson

District Player of the Year: Chris Paul, Wake Forest
District Coach of the Year: Seth Greenberg, Virginia Tech

District 4 (Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida)

Guillermo Diaz, Miami
Francisco Garcia, Louisville
Chuck Hayes, Kentucky
Jarrett Jack, Georgia Tech
Earnest Shelton, Alabama
Anthony Roberson, Florida
Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State
Darius Washington, Memphis
Anthony Winchester, Western Kentucky
Kennedy Winston, Alabama

District Player of the Year: Francisco Garcia, Louisville
District Coach of the Year: Tubby Smith, Kentucky

District 5 (Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin)

Alan Anderson, Michigan State
Darren Brooks, Southern Illinois
Dee Brown, Illinois
Terence Dials, Ohio State
Travis Diener, Marquette
Vincent Grier, Minnesota
Luther Head, Illinois
Mike Wilkinson, Wisconsin
Deron Williams, Illinois
Bracey Wright, Indiana

District Player of the Year: Dee Brown, Illinois
District Coach of the Year: Bruce Weber, Illinois

District 6 (Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota)

Greg Brunner, Iowa
Nate Funk, Creighton
Joey Graham, Oklahoma State
Taj Gray, Oklahoma
Ben Jacobson, Northern Iowa
Keith Lankford, Kansas
John Lucas, Oklahoma State
Tamaar Macklin, Southwest Missouri State
Wayne Simien, Kansas
Curtis Stinson, Iowa State

District Player of the Year: Wayne Simien, Kansas
District Coach of the Year: Bill Self, Kansas

District 7 (Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana)

Brandon Bass, LSU
Ronnie Brewer, Arkansas
Aaron Bruce, Baylor
Brad Buckman, Texas
Michael Harris, Rice
Bryan Hopkins, SMU
Paul Millsap, Louisiana Tech
Ronald Ross, Texas Tech
Omar Thomas, UTEP
Antoine Wright, Texas A&M

District Player of the Year: Ronald Ross, Texas Tech
District Coach of the Year: Billy Gillespie, Texas A&M

District 8 (Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada, Montana)

Lance Allred, Weber State
Odartey Blankson, UNLV
Andrew Bogut, Utah
Nick Fazekas, Nevada
Danny Granger, New Mexico
Marc Jackson, Utah
Spencer Nelson, Utah State
Yemi Nicholson, Denver
Ronnie Price, Utah Valley State
Jay Straight, Wyoming
Nick Welch, Air Force

District Player of the Year: Andrew Bogut, Utah
District Coach of the Year: Ray Giacoletti, Utah

District 9 (California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, Arizona, Alaska)

Ike Diogu, Arizona State
Channing Frye, Arizona
Daniel Kickert, St. Mary's
Adam Morrison, Gonzaga
Christian Maraker, Pacific
Nate Robinson, Washington
Tre Simmons, Washington
Salim Stoudamire, Arizona
Dijon Thompson, UCLA
Ronny Turiaf, Gonzaga

District Player of the Year: Salim Stoudamire, Arizona
District Coach of the Year: Bob Thomason, Pacific

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder