This Week In Pac-10 Women's Basketball

March 8, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The top-seeded STANFORD Cardinal (29-2 overall, 17-1 Pac-10) defeated third-seeded ARIZONA STATE (22-9, 12-6) 56-42 to capture its third straight State Farm Pac-10 Tournament title Mar. 7 at HP Pavilion at San Jose, Calif... In addition to securing the league's automatic NCAA bid, the Cardinal also won their fifth straight 2005 Pac-10 Championship, clinching the Conference crown back on Feb. 18... On the day the Cardinal moved into first place in the AP poll for the first time since December 1996, they received 16 points and seven rebounds from FR G Candice Wiggins, en route to their 20th consecutive victory... Wiggins was named the State Farm Pac-10 Tournament's Most Outstanding Player, averaging 16.7 points, 9.0 rebounds and 3.3 steals in three games... The Cardinal will make their 18th straight NCAA Tournament appearance.... The tournament runner-up Sun Devils, who tied for second place in the Pac-10 and defeated UCLA in the quarterfinals, are looking for their first NCAA berth since 2002... ASU has won six of its last seven games and boasts an RPI rating of 17th (College Basketball News) and 23rd (WBCA/Summerville)... The OREGON Ducks (20-9, 12-6), bound for their first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2001, notched their first 20-win season in three years with a victory over Washington in the Pac-10 Tournament quarterfinals... USC (19-10, 12-6), which led Stanford 37-32 at halftime of the Pac-10 Tournament semifinals, has notched its most overall wins since the 1996-97 Trojan squad finished 20-9... The Trojans are looking for their first NCAA Tournament appearance since that season... ARIZONA (19-11, 11-7), which saw its Pac-10 Tournament end in the quarterfinals for the first time since 2002, is hoping for a third straight NCAA at-large bid... The Wildcats' RPI rating is 41st in the latest rankings (CBN, WBCA)... UCLA (16-12, 10-8), which reached a season-high No. 16-ranking in the Dec. 13 AP poll, will regain the services of SO G Noelle Quinn, in time for postseason play... Quinn, sidelined since Jan. 20 with a knee injury, was the Bruins' leading scorer (16.9 ppg) and rebounder (7.1 rpg) at the time of her injury.


Fri., Mar. 4
#8 California 70, #9 Washington State 52
#7 Washington 81, #10 Oregon State 68

Sat., Mar. 5
#3 Arizona State 73, #6 UCLA 71
#2 Oregon 64, #7 Washington 50
#1 Stanford 81, #8 California 40
#4 USC 74, #5 Arizona 66

Sun., Mar. 6
#3 Arizona State 54, #2 Oregon 47
#1 Stanford 73, #4 USC 69

Mon., Mar. 7
#1 Stanford 56, #3 Arizona State 42

FR G Candice Wiggins, Stanford

JR G Nikki Blue, UCLA
SO F Aubree Johnson, Arizona State
JR F Kristen Kovesdy, Arizona State
SO F Eshaya Murphy, USC
SR G Kelley Suminski, Stanford
FR G Candice Wiggins, Stanford

Sunday, Mar. 13, 2 p.m. PT, ESPN

24th Annual

Dallas, Texas
Fresno, Calif.
Minneapolis, Minn.
Seattle, Wash. (Bank of America Arena, University of Washington, host)

Chapel Hill, N.C.; College Park, Md.; Knoxville, Tenn.; Storrs, Conn.

REGIONALS • Mar. 26 & 28 or Mar. 27 & 29

East Regional
Philadelphia, Pa.

Mideast Regional
Chattanooga, Tenn.

Midwest Regional
Kansas City, Mo.

West Regional
Tempe, Ariz.
Wells Fargo Arena
Arizona State University, host

Women's Final Four • April 3 & 5
RCA Dome (28,937)
Indianapolis, Ind.

NCAA TOURNAMENT HISTORY: The Pacific-10 Conference, which boasts the third-best RPI rating in the nation according to the Mar. 6 WBCA/Summerville rankings, will try to place more than three teams in the NCAA field of 64 for the first time since 2001.

CONFERENCE RPI: Through games as of Mar. 6, 2005, the WBCA/Summerville RPI report ranks the top six conferences as follows: 1. SEC, 2. ACC, 3. Pac-10, 4. Big 12, 5. Big Ten, 6. Big East.

NCAA COMMITTEE CONTACT: Washington Associate Athletic Director Marie Tuite is currently in her fourth year as a member of the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Committee. The 10-member committee selects and seeds the 64-team field NCAA Tournament. Media members wishing to speak with Tuite should contact Erin Rowley in the University of Washington Media Relations Office at 206-543-2230.

SELECTION SUNDAY: The 64-team bracket for the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship will be announced Sunday, March 13 on ESPN. All 63 games of the 2005 championship will be televised live on ESPN and ESPN2. ESPN will offer whiparound-styled coverage of the first- and second-round games to most of the nation with regionalized/protected coverage in the home markets of the competing teams. All first- and second-round games were available in their entirety on ESPN's FullCourt pay-per-view package. Beginning with the regional semifinals, the remaining 15 games will be televised nationally on ESPN and ESPN2.

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP ACTION ON PAC-10 CAMPUSES: For the second straight year, two Pac-10 institutions have been selected to host NCAA March Madness. The University of Washington and Bank of America Arena will host the 2005 NCAA First and Second Rounds, while Arizona State University and Wells Fargo Arena will host the 2005 NCAA West Regional. Last season, ASU hosted First and Second Rounds, while UW was the site of the West Regional. The 2005 First and Second rounds will be conducted at eight predetermined sites. Washington will host on Sat., Mar. 19, and Mon., Mar. 21. Arizona State will play host to games on Sat., Mar. 26 and Mon., Mar. 28. Tickets for First and Second Rounds are available by calling the Husky Ticket Office at 206-543-2200 or by logging onto Tickets for the Tempe, Ariz., Regional are on sale now at the ASU Ticket Office, by calling 480-965-2381 or by logging on to

PAC-10 TOURNAMENT CHAMPS: The stop-seeded STANFORD Cardinal defeated third-seeded ARIZONA STATE 56-42 to capture their third straight State Farm Pac-10 Tournament title Mar. 7 at HP Pavilion at San Jose, Calif... The Cardinal also captured the 2005 Pac-10 Championship, clinching a fifth consecutive regular-season title back on Feb. 18... Stanford's Candice Wiggins was named Most Outstanding Player of the Pac-10 Tournament, averaging 16.7 points, 9.0 rebounds and 3.3 steals in the Cardinal's three tournament wins... The Cardinal has advanced to all four Pac-10 Tournament finals, escaping with four titles... Here's a look at the year-by-year State Farm Pac-10 Tournament winners:

2002 Arizona State
2003 Stanford
2004 Stanford
2005 Stanford

PAC-10 REGULAR SEASON CHAMPS: The 2005 Pac-10 Champion STANFORD Cardinal finished with a 17-1 league record, five games ahead of second-place Arizona State, Oregon and USC (12-6). Stanford grabbed its fifth consecutive Pac-10 championship, although the 2001 crown was shared with Arizona State and Washington and the 2004 title was shared with Arizona... Stanford's title is its 14th in 19 seasons... Here's a year-by-year look at the league's champions:

1986-87 USC
1987-88 Washington
1988-89 Stanford
1989-90 Stanford/Washington
1990-91 Stanford
1991-92 Stanford
1992-93 Stanford
1993-94 USC
1994-95 Stanford
1995-96 Stanford
1996-97 Stanford
1997-98 Stanford
1998-99 UCLA/Oregon
1999-2000 Oregon
2000-01 Arizona State/Stanford/Washington
2001-02 Stanford
2002-03 Stanford
2003-04 Arizona/Stanford
2004-05 Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder