Tuffy Gosewisch Named To Johnny Bench Award Watch List

March 9, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. (www.TheSunDevils.com) -- Arizona State senior starting catcher Tuffy Gosewisch has been named to the initial watch list for the 2005 Johnny Bench Catcher of the Year Award. ASU's three-year starter behind the plate was also named one of 15 semifinalists for the 2004 Bench Award.

Gosewisch (Scottsdale, Ariz.) is in his third year as ASU's everyday starting catcher and has caught all but three innings of ASU's 21-game schedule so far in 2005. He is only the second three-year starting catcher in Sun Devil baseball history, joining former major leaguer and current Texas Ranger bench coach Don Wakamatsu.

The senior backstop has gotten off to a torrid start in 2005, leading the Sun Devils (11-10) in several offensive categories. He is hitting .354 (29-for-82) with five doubles, two home runs and 21 RBI. He has recorded at least one hit in 18 of 21 games and has tabbed nine multi-hit and seven multi-RBI games this season.

As stellar as his offensive production has been, Gosewisch has made the most impact behind the plate. He has a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage on 190 total chances. He has also thrown out 13 of 29 attempted base stealers (45%) and helped the pitching staff to a 170-54 strikeout-to-walk ratio.

Arizona State has a long tradition with the Johnny Bench Catcher of the Year Award, with former Devil Casey Myers being selected as a finalist in 2000 and 2001. The watch list will be updated again on May 2, 2005 before being narrowed down to 10 semifinalist (announced May 17, 2005). The finalist will be announced June 1, 2005 prior to the NCAA Regionals and annual Major League Baseball Draft. All finalists will be brought to Wichita, Kan., and the winner will be announced at the 7th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 29, 2005.

Previous Winners of Johnny Bench Catcher of the Year:2004   Kurt Suzuki      Cal State Fullerton2003   Ryan Garko       Stanford2002   Jeremy Brown     Alabama2001   Kelly Shoppach   Baylor2000   Brad Cresse      LSU

2005 Johnny Bench Award Watch List:Jordan Abruzzo - So   University of San DiegoBrian Baisley - Jr   University of South FloridaJoe Burke - Sr   St. John's UniversityAndrew Butera - Jr   University of Central FloridaAaron Cheesman - Sr   Florida State UniversityDonald Cheney - So   Morehead State UniversityJeff Clement - Jr   University of Southern CaliforniaBen Crabtree - Sr   Ohio UniversityJohn Curtis - So   California State University-FullertonKyle Dahlberg - Sr   Texas Christian UniversityDrew Davis - Jr   Elon UniversityChris Denove - Jr   University of California-Los AngelesNick Derba - So   Manhattan CollegeGreg Dini - Sr   Tulane UniversityJake Elder - Sr   University of MinnesotaNeall French - Jr   University of CincinnatiTuffy Gosewisch - Sr   Arizona State UniversityJared Greenwood - Sr   Western Carolina UniversityBarry Gunther - Sr   University of MississippiBrett Hayes - Jr   University of NevadaBrian Hernandez - Jr   Vanderbilt UniversityJustin Hoban - So   University of Maryland-Eastern ShoreNick Hundley - Jr   University of ArizonaBrian Jeroloman - So   University of FloridaMatt Kalafatis - Sr   University of California-Santa BarbaraMatt McBride - So   Lehigh UniversityJoe Michalski - Sr   George Washington UniversityCaleb Moore - Sr   East Tennessee State UniversitySean Richardson - Sr   University of KansasChris Robinson - Jr   University of IllinoisRichard Russell - Jr   Marshall UniversityJohn Slone - Sr   Miami University (OH)Taylor Teagarden - Jr   University of TexasKiel Thibault - Jr   Gonzaga UniversityBrian Valichka - Jr   University of DelawareKris Welker - Sr   University of IowaSchuyler Williamson - Sr   United States Military Academy (Army)

--Sun Devil Baseball--