Ike Diogu Earns Second-Team All-America Honors From USBWA

March 10, 2005

Arizona State's Ike Diogu has been named a second-team All-American by the United States Basketball Writers Association, who announced Thursday two five-man All-America teams for 2005.

Diogu, the 2005 Pac-10 Player of the Year, leads the Pac-10 in scoring (22.5 ppg.), rebounding (9.6 rpg.) and blocks per game (2.23). He has played 12 40-minute games on the year and has scored in double digits in all 89 games of his career. He has made 232 free throws on the year, just 11 short of his Pac-10 record of 243 set last year.

Named to the USBWA first team are Andrew Bogut, Utah; Dee Brown, Illinois; Chris Paul, Wake Forest; J. J. Redick, Duke; and Wayne Simien, Kansas.

Bogut, a 7-footer from Melbourne, Australia, is among the national leaders in scoring (15th at 20.6 ppg) and rebounding (third at 11.9 rpg). He leads the nation in double-doubles with 19 in 28 games.

Brown, the Big Ten player of the year and defensive player of the year, led Illinois to its second consecutive outright conference championship and a No. 1 national ranking for most of the season. He is the Big Ten leader in 3-point field goal shootingpercentage (.515).

Paul leads Wake Forest in 3-point shooting, free throw percentage and assists.

Redick, player of the year in the Atlantic Coast Conference, leads the ACC in scoring with 22.5 points per game and was the only unanimous selection to the ACC all-conference team.

Simien was named player of the year in the Big 12 and leads the conference in scoring (19.4 ppg) and rebounding (11.1).

Selected to the second team are Diogu; Luther Head, Illinois; Sean May, North Carolina; Salim Stoudamire, Arizona; and Hakim Warrick, Syracuse.

Ike Diogu 2004-2005 Honors

USBWA Second-Team All-American

USBWA District 9 Selection(team made up of players from California, Oregon, Washington,Hawaii and Alaska)

Ike Diogu (Arizona State)Channing Frye (Arizona)Daniel Kickert (St. Mary's)Adam Morrison (Gonzaga)Christian Maraker (Pacific)Nate Robinson (Washington)Tre Simmons (Washington)Salim Stoudamire (Arizona)Dijon Thompson (UCLA)Ronny Turiaf (Gonzaga).

NABC District 15 First-Team Selection(team made up of players from California, Nevada and Arizona)

Ike Diogu (Arizona State)Dijon Thompson (UCLA)Salim Stoudamire (Arizona)Channing Frye (Arizona)Glenn McGowan (Pepperdine).

2005 Pac-10 Player of the Year

Three-Time All-Pac-10 Honoree (2003, 2004, 2005)

Three-Time Pac-10 Player of the Week in 2004-2005

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder