UW To Host NCAA Women's Basketball First and Second Rounds

March 13, 2005

2005 NCAA Women's Basketball Championship Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

SEATTLE -- The University of Washington will serve as one of eight sites for the first and second rounds of the 2005 NCAA Women's Basketball Championship, which will take place at Bank of America Arena, Saturday, March 19 and Monday, March 21.

Two sessions of first round games will take place Saturday, with two games in each session. One session of second round games will take place Monday, March 21, with the winners advancing to their respective regional semifinal.

First round action begins Saturday with No. 2 seed Baylor (27-3) facing No. 15 seed Illinois State (13-17), at 11 a.m. PST. No. 7 Texas Christian (23-9) will meet No. 10 Oregon (20-9) approximately 30 minutes following Game 1. Saturday's second session features No. 4 Kansas State (23-7) versus No. 13 Bowling Green (23-7) at 5 p.m. PST, followed 30 minutes later by No. 5 Vanderbilt (22-7) versus No. 12 Montana (22-7).

The winner between Baylor vs. Illinois State will meet either TCU or Oregon in the second round Monday, March 21, at 6 p.m. That contest will be followed by the winners of the Kansas State vs. Bowling Green and Vanderbilt vs. Montana games. All games will be televised live by ESPN2.

Baylor, Illinois State, TCU and Oregon are all seeded in the Tempe Regional, with the second round winner advancing to the regional semifinal at Tempe, Ariz. Vanderbilt, Montana, Kansas State and Bowling Green are seeded in the Kansas City Regional.

Montana, Baylor, TCU, Bowling Green and Illinois State were automatic qualifiers for the NCAA Tournament, by virtue of winning their conference tournaments. Kansas State, Oregon and Vanderbilt earned at-large bids.

On Friday, March 18, all eight teams will hold 50-minute practice sessions at Bank of America Arena that are free and open to the public. The first practice begins at 11 a.m., with the last concluding at 6:50 p.m.

For tickets, visit GoHuskies.com or call the Husky Ticket Office at 206-543-2200. All-session tickets for adults are $40, and all-session student/youth tickets are $24. Single-session tickets for adults are $16 and $10 for student/youth.

In addition to Tempe and Kansas City, the other regional sites will be Philadelphia and Chattanooga. The four regional winners will meet in the NCAA Women's Final Four, April 3 and 5, at the RCA Dome in Indianapolis.

Tempe Region

GAME 1: No. 2 Baylor vs. No. 15 Illinois State, 11 a.m. PST (ESPN2/ESPNU)
GAME 2: No. 7 TCU vs. No. 10 Oregon, 30 minutes after Game 1 (ESPN2/ESPNU)

Kansas City Region
GAME 3: No. 4 Kansas State vs. No. 13 Bowling Green, 5 p.m. (ESPN2)
GAME 4: No. 5 Vanderbilt vs. No. 12 Montana, 30 minutes following Game 3 (ESPN2)

Game 1 Winner vs. Game 2 Winner, 6 p.m PST (ESPN2)
Game 3 Winner vs. Game 4 Winner, 30 minutes following (ESPN2)

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder