Stanford Lightweights Win Coggeshall Cup

April 3, 2005

In only their fourth year of existence, Stanford's Lightweight Varsity 8 won the A.W. Coggeshall Cup at the San Diego Crew Classic. Their nine-second victory marks the Cardinal's first win at the 32-year-old regatta. They finished second last year.

The Cardinal's boat of coxswain Maia Goodman, Meredith Coleman, Jennie Morawetz, Cady Kintner, Kate Vieh, Kristina Peterson, Olivia Prevost, Kate Hayes, and Amina Richardson finished with a time of 7:08.1. They were followed by UC-Santa Barbara (7:17.29), San Diego State (7:17.69), Central Florida (7:20.58), Loyola Marymount (7:29.28), and Villanova (7:35.01).

'It was a good row. The team feels pretty good about their performance. Hopefully we can work out some kinks before the Windermere Regatta,' said Head Coach Al Acosta, referring to the Windermere Collegiate Crew Classic taking place April 9 and 10 at Redwood Shores. The lightweights will face crews from Princeton, Georgetown, and San Diego State.

For complete regatta results, go to

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder