Pac-10 Men's Diving Awards Announced

April 12, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

ARIZONA STATE junior Joona Puhakka and head coach Mark Bradshaw were named Pac-10 Diver and Coach of the Year, respectively, for the third straight year. CALIFORNIA'S Javier Rivas was named Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced.

Puhakka, from Helsinki, Finland, won titles in both the one-meter and three-meter springboard at the Pac-10 Championships in Long Beach, Calif., taking both events for the third consecutive year. Two years ago he became the first diver in ASU history to win two individual Conference titles in the same season, a feat he has twice repeated since then. Puhakka also won the one and three-meter national titles at the 2005 NCAA Championships, earning his second career national title in each event. Puhakka previously won the NCAA three-meter springboard title in 2004 and the one-meter in 2003. He was named the 2005 NCAA Diver of the Year.

Rivas, a freshman from Long Beach, Calif., finished eighth on the platform at the 2005 Pac-10 Diving Championship. He also took 11th in the one-meter and 12th in the three-meter event.

Bradshaw, in his eighth year at Arizona State, helped the Sun Devil swimming and diving team to a fifth place finish at the Pac-10 Championships and a 20th place finish at the NCAA Championships. For his efforts, Bradshaw earned the 2005 NCAA Diving Coach of the Year award, the second such honor of his career. The men's Pac-10 Coach of the Year award is the third in Bradshaw's career, as he garnered the 2003 and 2004 honors as well.

The Diver, Newcomer and Coach of the Year honors are determined by a coaches vote.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder