Pac-10 Women's Swimming Awards Announced

April 12, 2005


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

STANFORD'S Caroline Bruce was named the Pacific-10 2004-05 Women's Swimmer and Newcomer of the Year, while ARIZONA'S Frank Busch was named Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Bruce, a freshman from Wichita, Kan., won the 200 breast, 200 IM and 400 IM at the Pac-10 Championships. She also contributed to a pair of Cardinal relay victories, propelling Stanford to its second consecutive Pac-10 title. For her efforts, Bruce was named the Swimmer of the Championships. At the NCAA Championships, Bruce won both the 100 and 200 breaststroke, giving Stanford a sweep of the two events for the fourth straight year. She finished the meet with 56 points to rank second on the Individual High Point list and earned six All-American honors, picking up the status in the 200 IM and as a member of three Stanford relay teams (400 free, 200 medley, 400 medley) in addition to her 100 and 200 breast victories.

Busch led the Wildcats to a third place finish at the NCAA Championships. At the Championships, four of his swimmers finished among the top 15 for individual points. At the Pac-10 Championships, Busch coached his Arizona team to a second place finish. The women's swimming Coach of the Year award is the fourth of Busch's career.

The Swimmer, Newcomer and Coach of the Year honors are determined by a coaches vote.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder