Men's Basketball Awards Announced

April 13, 2005

BERKELEY, Calif. - Richard Midgley, Rod Benson and Martin Smith received two awards apiece at the California men's basketball team's annual banquet Wednesday night.

Midgley was presented the Most Courageous Player honor and the Bears' Top Free Throw Shooter award, while Benson was named Most Improved Player and Top Rebounder. Smith was given the Coaches Award, in addition to the Leader in Assists honor.

The two other awards presented Wednesday went to Alex Pribble (Hustle Award) and Brett Lowenthal (Academic Achievement).

Midgley, who played through much of the season with a sprained right shoulder, missing three games entirely, averaged 12.9 ppg and paced the squad with 50 three-pointers. He also shot 76.2 percent from the free throw line, making 80 of 105 attempts. This marks the third straight year Midgley has received the Most Courageous honor.

Benson led Cal in both scoring (13.3 ppg) and rebounding (6.3 rpg) and shot 54.3 percent from the floor, and Smith, a third-year walk-on who gained 17 starts, contributed 5.6 ppg and a team-best 113 assists with just 58 turnovers.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder