Pac-10 Men's and Women's Individual Tennis Championships Set to Begin

April 18, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

PACIFIC-10 INDIVIDUAL CHAMPIONSHIPS: The Pac-10's nine women's teams and eight men's teams head to Ojai, Calif., Thurs., April 21 through Sun., April 24, to decide the league's singles and doubles champions. The 32-player men's singles draw shall consist of four student-athletes from each school, and the 16-team doubles draw shall consist of two doubles teams from each school. For the women, the 32-player singles draw shall consist of three players from each of the nine schools that sponsor women's tennis, with five additional competitors selected by a committee of coaches, based upon the participants record. The 16-team doubles draw will have one doubles team from each school and seven additional teams selected by the committee, based upon the participants record.

: Pac-10 competition will be held in conjunction with the 105th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament. The Pac-10 men will compete at Libbey Park in Ojai for all rounds. The Pac-10 women will play at the Ojai Valley Athletic Club Thurs., April 21, and Fri., April 22. All semifinal and final matches on Sat., April 23, and Sun., April 24, are at Libbey Park. Matches begin at 8 a.m., with two rounds of singles on opening day. One round of singles and two rounds of doubles will be played on Friday. Semifinals and finals will be held at a time yet to be determined.

OJAI HISTORY: The Ojai, as it is known in tennis circles, is the oldest amateur tennis tournament in the United States and has been interrupted only five years since its inception - in 1924 by hoof and mouth disease and four years during World War II. Pac-10 schools have competed in intercollegiate events in 94 of The Ojai's 104 tournaments beginning in 1911. Championship medals are awarded in both singles and doubles and the winner's names are inscribed on permanent trophies displayed each year at the tournament. Last year's singles winners were Stanford's Sam Warburg and California's Raquel Kops-Jones. Doubles winners were UCLA's Philipp Gruendler and Luben Pampoulov on the men's side and Stanford's Alice Barnes and Erin Burdette for the women.

MEDIA CONTACT: Sam Eaton will serve as the Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament coordinator. All media requests can be forwarded to him at (805) 963-2014, or During tennis competition, Eaton can be reached at the Ojai Tournament desk, (805) 646-7241. Results will be posted at, as well as on the Pac-10 website:

PAC-10 INDIVIDUAL AWARDS: Individual awards, including the Player of the Year, Doubles Team of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year, will be awarded after the conclusion of the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai and released from the Conference office.

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS: The NCAA Men's Tennis Regionals are May 13-15 on campus sites, and the Men's Tennis Championships are in College Station, Texas, May 21-30. The NCAA Women's Tennis Regionals are May 13-14 on campus sites, with the NCAA Women's Tennis Championships held in Athens, Ga., May 19-28.

PAC-10 MEN: 18 Pac-10 singles players are ranked in the ITA Top-125 national men's singles rankings (as of April 5). All eight Conference teams are represented by individuals, with Stanford senior Sam Warburg earning the highest ranking of No. 4 in the nation. UCLA leads the way with five individuals in the Top-125.

ARIZONA: No. 55 Roger Matalonga
ARIZONA STATE: No. 122 Clinton Letcher
CALIFORNIA: No. 16 Conor Niland; No. 100 Lennart Maack
OREGON: No. 14 Sven Swinnen
STANFORD: No. 2 Sam Warburg; No. 18 KC Corkery
UCLA: No. 7 Luben Pampoulov; No. 8 Benjamin Kohlloeffel; No. 48 Krzysztof Kwinta; No. 66 Philipp Gruendler; No. 73 Alberto Francis
USC: No. 10 Jamil Al-Agba; No. 62 Drew Hoskins; No. 93 Johan Berg
WASHINGTON: No. 19 Alex Vlaski; No. 29 Alex Slovic; No. 57 Christoph Palmanshofer

In doubles, Pac-10 men's teams occupy nine spots among the Top-60, with a ranked duo representative of six different schools. UCLA leads the way with three ranked teams. Stanford's tandem of Sam Warburg and KC Corkery is the third highest ranked doubles duo in the nation.

ARIZONA: No. 19 Colin O'Grady/Roger Matalonga
CALIFORNIA: No. 21 Conor Niland/Patrick Briaud
STANFORD: No. 3 Sam Warburg/KC Corkery
UCLA: No. 40 Luben Pampoulov/Benjamin Kohlloeffel; No. 42 Philipp Gruendler/Benjamin Kohlloeffel; No. 59 Alberto Francis/Krzysztof Kwinta
USC: No. 30 Johan Berg/Jamil Al-Agba
WASHINGTON: No. 27 Daniel Chu/Alex Slovic; No. 49 Alex Slovic/Andy Kuharszky

PAC-10 WOMEN: The Pac-10 women hold down 23 spots on the ITA's Top-125 singles rankings list through April 5. Of the Top-25 players ranked, eight players are ranked, more than any other conference. Eight Conference teams are represented by individuals, with senior Suzi Babos of California with the highest ranking at No. 4. Stanford leads the way with seven players ranked.

ARIZONA: No. 40 Dianne Hollands; No. 87 Maja Mlakar
CALIFORNIA: No. 4 Suzi Babos; No. 106 Cristina Visico
OREGON: No. 49 Daria Panova; No. 67 Dominika Dieskova; No. 81 Davina Mendiburu
STANFORD: No. 9 Amber Liu; No. 20 Erin Burdette; No. 29 Alice Barnes; No. 38 Lejla Hodzic; No. 45 Theresa Logar; No. 51 Whitney Deason; No. 105 Anne Yelsey
UCLA: No. 23 Riza Zalameda; No. 25 Daniela Bercek; No. 98 Laura Gordon
USC: No. 10 Nicole Leimbach; No. 13 Lindsey Nelson; No. 108 Anca Anastasiu
WASHINGTON: No. 15 Dea Sumantri; No. 54 Dinka Hadzic
WASHINGTON STATE: No. 71 Ekaterina Burduli

In doubles, Pac-10 women's teams hold 10 spots among the Top-60, with seven schools represented. The UCLA Bruin tandem of Daniela Bercek and Riza Zalameda are the second-ranked doubles team in the nation.

ARIZONA: No. 32 Maja Mlakar/Dianne Hollands
ARIZONA STATE: No. 20 Lauren Colalillo/Kady Pooler; No. 59 Sabrina Capannolo/Jessica Leitch
CALIFORNIA: No. 49 Suzi Babos/Stephanie Kusano
OREGON: No. 54 Daria Panova/Dominika Dieskova
STANFORD: No. 10 Erin Burdette/Alice Barnes; No. 29 Amber Liu/Anne Yelsey
UCLA: No. 2 Daniela Bercek/Riza Zalameda
USC: No. 27 Carine Vermeulen/Lindsey Nelson; No. 37 Anca Anastasiu/Lindsey Nelson




Sam Warburg (Stan) d. Chris Lam (UCLA), 6-4, 6-4
Adriano Biaselia (USC) d. Alex Vlaski (Wash), 6-3, 3-6, 7-6(2)


Sam Warburg (Stan) d. Adriano Biaselia (USC), 7-6, 6-3



Raquel Kops-Jones (Cal) d. Dianne Hollands (Ariz), 6-4, 6-4
Alice Barnes (Stan) d. Anca Anastasiu (USC), 6-1, 6-4


Raquel Kops-Jones (Cal) d. Alice Barnes (Stan), 6-3, 6-4

Pac-10 Individual Singles


1987, Patrick McEnroe, STAN
1988, Brian Garrow, UCLA
1989, Pat Galbraith, UCLA
1990, Jason Netter, UCLA
1991, Alex O'Brien, STAN
1992, Alex O'Brien, STAN
1993, Fritz Bissell, UCLA
1994, Wayne Black, USC
1995, Scott Humphries, STAN
1996, Adam Peterson, USC
1997, Bob Bryan, STAN
1998, Paul Goldstein, STAN
1999, Ryan Wolters, STAN
2000, Geoff Abrams, STAN
2001, Ryan Moore, USC
2002, Rodrigo Grilli, UCLA
2003, Marcin Matkowski, UCLA
2004, Sam Warburg, STAN


1987, Jane Thomas, UCLA
1988, Lisa Green, STAN
1989, Sandra Birch, STAN
1990, Debra Graham, STAN
1991, Sandra Birch, STAN
1992, Alix Creek, ARIZ
1993, Alix Creek, ARIZ
1994, Sandra DeSilva, STAN
1995, Keri Phebus, UCLA
1996, Julie Scott, STAN
1997, Julie Scott, STAN
1998, Annica Cooper, UCLA
1999, Mariss Irvin, STAN
2000, Sara Walker, UCLA
2001, Adria Engle, ASU
2002, Gabriela Lastra, STAN
2003, Daria Panova, ORE
2004, Raquel Kops-Jones, CAL

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder