USC Women's Tennis To Host First- and Second-Round NCAA Tourney Matches

May 4, 2005

The No. 7-ranked USC women's tennis team (16-3) will host first- and second-round matches in the 64-team NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships, the NCAA announced today (May 4).

The Women of Troy, seeded seventh in the tourney, will face Illinois-Chicago (13-10) at 9 a.m. on May 13 in Marks Tennis Stadium, followed by a 1 p.m. match between Arizona State (10-7) and San Diego State (16-10).

The winners will meet on May 14 at 1 p.m. The victor of that match will advance to the Round of 16 at host Georgia's Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., on May 19. Play there will continue to the championship on May 22.

USC head coach Richard Gallien's squad is led by a pair of freshmen who are ranked in the nation's Top 20: No. 9 Nicole Leimbach, who recently became the first Trojan woman to win the Pac-10 singles title, and No. 16 Lindsey Nelson. Sophomores Anca Anastasiu (No. 53) and Dianne Matias (No. 94) are also ranked.

USC's women have won seven national team championships (NCAA, AIAW and USTA), including NCAA crowns in 1983 and 1985. This is the 14th consecutive year that USC has qualified for the NCAAs.

Last year, the Women of Troy advanced to the Round of 16 before falling to UCLA.

Individual singles and doubles NCAA tournament selections will be announced on May 5.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder