Seven Stanford Players Selected for NCAA Championships

May 5, 2005

Stanford, Calif. - Stanford will send seven players to compete for NCAA individual titles on May 23-28, announced the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee today. 64 singles players and 32 doubles teams will compete in the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., following the conclusion of the team championship (May 19-22).

Alice Barnes, Erin Burdette, Whitney Deason, Lejla Hodzic, Amber Liu, Theresa Logar and Anne Yelsey each earned a bid to the 2005 NCAA Singles Championship, and two doubles pairs, Barnes-Burdette and Liu-Yelsey, will compete for the 2005 NCAA Doubles Championship.

With seven ranked players ranked in the ITA's top-65, the Cardinal is sending more individual players to the NCAA Tournament than any other school. Three schools are sending three qualifiers (Kentucky, Southern California and Vanderbilt) and another two are sending two players and one alternate (Florida and Northwestern).

All matches will be the best of three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games all will be used for all matches.

Stanford will begin its quest for the NCAA team title next weekend, when the Cardinal hosts Army, Fresno State and Oregon in first and second round action at the Taube Tennis Center.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder