2005 Pac-10 Tennis Honors Announced

May 6, 2005


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

In a vote by the Conference coaches, STANFORD's Sam Warburg has been named the Pacific-10 Conference Men's Tennis Player of the Year for the second straight year, while USC's Nicole Leimbach was named Pac-10 Women's Tennis Player of the Year.

The Men's Tennis Doubles Team of the Year was awarded to Stanford's KC Corkery and Warburg, while the UCLA tandem of Daniela Bercek and Riza Zalameda was named the Women's Doubles Team of the Year.

The Bruins' Ben Kohlloeffel earned the Men's Newcomer of the Year honors, while CALIFORNIA's Suzi Babos was named Women's Freshman of the Year.

For the coaches awards, WASHINGTON's Matt Anger was named Men's Coach of the Year, while Stanford's Lele Forood was selected as Women's Coach of the Year.

Warburg, a senior from Sacramento, Calif., is currently ranked No. 1 in the nation by the ITA and finished the season with a 21-2 dual meet record on his way to winning his second straight Pac-10 title. Leimbach, a freshman from Colorado Springs, Colo., is currently ranked No. 9 in the nation. She recently won the singles title at the Pac-10 Championships, beating Stanford's Alice Barnes. During the regular season she posted a 14-5 record in dual meets.

Stanford's Corkery and Warburg are currently ranked No. 3 in the nation, having compiled a 32-6 overall record. Corkery, a junior from Manhattan Beach, Calif, and Warburg captured the Pac-10 doubles title in Ojai, Calif. The tandem is also the reigning national champion, having won the NCAA doubles title in 2004. UCLA's pairing of Bercek and Zalameda, ranked No. 4 nationally, finished the regular season with a 28-5 record, but did not compete at the Pac-10 Championships. Bercek is a sophomore from Novi Sad, Serbia and Montenegro, and Zalameda is a freshman from Los Angeles, Calif.

Kohlloeffel, a sophomore from Herne, Germany participating in his first season at UCLA, finished with a 36-7 overall record and is currently ranked No. 11 nationally. He did not compete in singles at the Pac-10 Championships. Babos, from Sopron, Hungary, is currently No. 8 in the national rankings. She finished with a 30-7 mark in regular season singles play, before falling in the round of 32 at the Pac-10 Championships.

Anger guided the Huskies to a 6-1 Conference record (18-4 overall) and a share of the Pac-10 team title. It was Washington's first title since the Pac-10's northern and southern divisions merged in 1998. In his eleven years at the helm, Anger has guided the Huskies to the NCAA tournament in every season, including appearances in the Sweet 16 in 2001, 2002 and 2003. This is the first time Anger has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year. Forood earns Coach of the Year honors for the second straight season, having led the Cardinal to back-to-back undefeated regular season records (21-0 in 2005, 23-0 in 2004), and Pac-10 marks (7-0 in 2005, 8-0 in 2004). This is Forood's fifth Pac-10 Championship and Stanford's 18th consecutive Conference crown in a row. Over her five-year tenure, Forood has led Stanford to a 132-3 record and won three NCAA Championships.


Men's First Team

Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
Conor Niland, CAL
Luben Pampoulov, UCLA
Sven Swinnen, ORE
Alex Vlaski, WASH
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Second Team

Jamil Al-Agba, USC
KC Corkery, STAN
Drew Hoskins, USC
Roger Matalonga, ARIZ
Christoph Palmanshofer, WASH
Alex Slovic, WASH

Honorable Mention

Christopher Biro, ASU
Patrick Briaud, CAL
Kris Kwinta, UCLA
Clint Letcher, ASU
Lennart Maack, CAL
Colin O'Grady, ARIZ
James Wan, STAN

Men's Player of the Year

Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Doubles Team of the Year

KC Corkery/Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Newcomer of the Year

Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA

Men's Coach of the Year

Matt Anger, WASH


Women's First Team

Suzi Babos, CAL
Alice Barnes, STAN
Daniela Bercek, UCLA
Nicole Leimbach, USC
Amber Liu, STAN
Lindsey Nelson, USC

Women's Second Team

Erin Burdette, STAN
Dianne Hollands, ARIZ
Theresa Logar, STAN
Daria Panova, ORE
Dea Sumantri, WASH
Riza Zalameda, UCLA

Honorable Mention

Anca Anastasiu, USC
Ekaterina Burduli, WSU
Sabrina Capannolo, ASU
Dinka Hadzic, WASH
Stephanie Kusano, CAL
Maja Mlakar, ARIZ

Women's Player of the Year

Nicole Leimbach, USC

Women's Doubles Team of the Year

Daniela Bercek/Riza Zalameda, UCLA

Women's Freshman of the Year

Suzi Babos, CAL

Women's Coach of the Year

Lele Forood, STAN

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder