Derting Named To Lott Trophy Watch List

May 6, 2005

Pullman, Wash. - - Washington State linebacker Will Derting has been named to the preseason watch list for The Lott Trophy for the second consecutive year.

The Lott Trophy, named for Hall of Fame safety Ronnie Lott, is awarded to the nation's outstanding collegiate defensive player of the year. Sponsored by the IMPACT Foundation of The Pacific Club, the award is given to the player who best represents the IMPACT characteristics of integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community, and tenacity. Georgia's David Pollack won the inaugural award last year.

Lott spent 15 years in the NFL and was a member of four Super Bowl championship teams, earning a spot on the league's 75th Anniversary All-Time Team. The former San Francisco 49ers great has been active in helping disadvantaged youth in the Bay Area and enhancing diversity in the financial services industry.

Derting racked up 93 tackles in 2004, including 11.5 behind the line of scrimmage with 3.5 sacks. Despite a preseason wrist injury that forced him to play the season in a cast, Derting earned second team All-Pac-10 honors. The Okanogan, Wash., native earned first team All-Pac-10 honors in 2003 and was twice named the conference's defensive player of the week following performances against Notre Dame and Oregon State that year. Derting's outstanding play continues to garner national attention with the WSU senior also recognized on the 2005 Lombardi Award watch list.

Derting is one of 42 players on the 2005 Lott Trophy watch list, joining fellow Pac-10 standouts Spencer Havner and Justin London of UCLA, Darnell Bing of USC, Trent Bray of Oregon State, Darrell Brooks of Arizona, Donnie McClesky of California, Kevin Schimmelmann of Stanford, and Jamar Williams of Arizona State.