Kohlloeffel Named Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year

May 6, 2005

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - UCLA men's tennis player Benjamin Kohlloeffel was named Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year, leading a list of three Bruin players to receive all-conference honors Friday. Seniors Luben Pampoulov and Kris Kwinta were also honored.

Kohlloeffel, a sophomore who is playing his first season of collegiate tennis after redshirting last season, was also named one of six first-team selections. He has enjoyed an outstanding year, posting a 36-7 overall singles record, ranking No. 11 in the country. He also owns a 22-7 record in doubles play.

Pampoulov, an honorable mention selection a year ago, joins Kohlloeffel on this year's first team. He is the Bruins' highest ranked singles player at No. 7 nationally, owning a 26-6 overall record. He started the season by winning his first 19 singles matches, claiming three fall tournaments. UCLA is the only school with two players on this year's first team.

Kwinta rounds out the group as an honorable mention selection. He is 25-9 overall in singles play, checking in at No. 60 in the country. He is also one of the Bruins' top doubles players, teaming with Alberto Francis to form the nation's 19th-ranked team.

Men's First Team
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
Conor Niland, CAL
Luben Pampoulov, UCLA
Sven Swinnen, ORE
Alex Vlaski, WASH
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Second Team
Jamil Al-Agba, USC
KC Corkery, STAN
Drew Hoskins, USC
Roger Matalonga, ARIZ
Christoph Palmanshofer, WASH
Alex Slovic, WASH

Honorable Mention
Christopher Biro, ASU
Patrick Briaud, CAL
Kris Kwinta, UCLA
Clint Letcher, ASU
Lennart Maack, CAL
Colin O'Grady, ARIZ
James Wan, STAN

Men's Player of the Year
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Doubles Team of the Year
KC Corkery/Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Newcomer of the Year
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA

Men's Coach of the Year
Matt Anger, WASH

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder