Matt Anger Named Men's Tennis Pac-10 Coach of the Year

May 6, 2005

WALNUT CREEK, CALIF. - Washington men's tennis coach Matt Anger was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, while senior Alex Vlaski was selected to the All-Pac-10 first-team, and senior Christoph Palmanshofer and sophomore Alex Slovic were second-team selections, the conference announced today.

It is the first Pac-10 Coach of the Year award for Anger, who guided the Huskies to a 6-1 conference record (18-4 overall) and a share of the Pac-10 team title. It was Washington's first title since the Pac-10's northern and southern divisions merged in 1998. In his 11th season with the Huskies, Anger has led UW to 11 postseason appearances including three-straight NCAA Sweet 16 trips from 2002-2004. Washington will host Oral Roberts in the first round of the NCAA Championships, Friday, May 13.

Vlaski, this year's Pac-10 singles runner-up, earned his third-straight first-team All-Pac-10 selection. A two-time All-American, the Husky senior is ranked sixth in the nation in singles and has an overall record of 18-6. Vlaski's Pac-10 semifinal victory over ninth-ranked Conor Niland (California) set the Washington career singles record at 109. Vlaski is the No. 8 seed in the upcoming NCAA singles championship beginning May 25.

Palmanshofer, who solidified the No. 3 singles position in the Huskies' lineup, is making his first-ever appearance on the All-Pac-10 team. Palmanshofer, currently ranked 65th in singles, has a team-high 22 wins for Washington and has defeated five ranked opponents. He also provided clinching victories in key conference duals against California and Arizona State. Palmanshofer has paired with Vlaski in doubles, compiling a team-best 11-5 record.

Slovic earned his second-straight All-Pac-10 selection after garnering a first-team nod as a freshman last year. Slovic has keyed the Huskies' success playing mainly at No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles with sophomore Daniel Chu. Slovic and Chu, ranked 18th in the nation, advanced to the Pac-10 doubles final only to fall to the Stanford tandem of KC Corkery and Sam Warburg, the defending NCAA champion doubles team. Slovic will compete in both singles and doubles in the individual portion of this year's NCAA Championships.

Additional Pac-10 awards handed out went to Warburg for Player of the Year, Warburg and Corkery for Doubles Team of the Year, and UCLA's Benjamin Kohlloeffel for Newcomer of the Year.

2005 Men's Tennis All-Pac-10 Teams
Men's First Team

Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
Conor Niland, CAL
Luben Pampoulov, UCLA
Sven Swinnen, ORE
Alex Vlaski, WASH
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Second Team
Jamil Al-Agba, USC
KC Corkery, STAN
Drew Hoskins, USC
Roger Matalonga, ARIZ
Christoph Palmanshofer, WASH
Alex Slovic, WASH

Honorable Mention
Christopher Biro, ASU
Patrick Briaud, CAL
Kris Kwinta, UCLA
Clint Letcher, ASU
Lennart Maack, CAL
Colin O'Grady, ARIZ
James Wan, STAN

Men's Player of the Year
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Doubles Team of the Year
KC Corkery/Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Newcomer of the Year
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA

Men's Coach of the Year
Matt Anger, WASH

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder